Part 455 – Another Day, Another Night

Raven punched out.

The vampire still lay curled up on the lobby floor. The fey sat in the chair next to him, looking uncaring and nonchalant.

Raven smiled.

He knew better.

“Dawn will be here soon, sir.”

The fey blinked rapidly at him.

“Do you wish to help me carry him to the car, sir?”

“Yes.” He said it too fast.

“Very well. You may ride in the back seat with him.”

“Thank you!” He said it with un-feylike enthusiasm.

Yes. thought Raven. I know better.

***

Ambrose looked up at the sky. “Dawn’s coming.”

“Another day, another night.”

His gaze traveled from outer space to Barbara’s face. “I’m sorry.”

“For what?”

“That it has to be like this. Our days and nights forever reversed. Are you sure that you want to be in a marriage like that?”

“I said yes, didn’t I?”

“Yes, but—”

“I meant it. I’m not stupid, Ambrose. I know things are going to be weird and complicated. I know it would be so much easier if I got married to some Joe John Jacob Jingleheimer-Schmidt human. It would save me a lot of stress and grief.”

“Is that really supposed to make me feel better?”

She giggled. “Probably not. But this might: I don’t want to be married to a Joe John Jacob Jingleheimer-Schmidt. I want to be married to you with all of your bad attitude, complications, day exhaustion. Everything. I love you, the whole you. Both the good and the bad.” She spread her hands on his chest.

He could have sworn that his heart stopped beating in the best possible way.

“So, quit trying to push me away and scare me off. It isn’t going to work.”

He lay his hands on top of hers. “You stubborn, willful creature.”

She giggled. “You know, I wasn’t always this stubborn. I think you’re a bad influence.”

He laughed. “I think you’re a brat. But darn it all. I love you.”

“Then, why don’t you kiss me?”

“See? Complete brat.” But he kissed her all the same.

The rest of their group decided to ruin the moment. They all tromped outside. Robin groaned and howled as Raven carried him to the car. The fey flittered his wings in erratic bursts at every sound.

“Could you carry him with a bit more care?”

“I am. Sir.” Raven stopped beside Ambrose. “I am going home, sir. Will you be joining me?”

“I’ll drive him to your place.” said Barbara.

“Sir?”

Ambrose nodded. “I’ll meet you there.”

“Very good, sir.” He resumed his journey to the car.

“And don’t you dare lock the front door!”

“Of course not, sir.”

Robin flailed out with his good arm as Raven tried to settle him in the back seat. The fey whispered something in his ear and the scarred vampire relaxed.

Barbara wrapped her arm around Ambrose’s lower back. She looked up at him. “Do you think we should help?”

He kissed her forehead. “He wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for you. I think that’s enough help.”

“Hmm. I just realized something. You sure kiss me a lot.”

“Is that a complaint?”

“Nope. Observation.”

“I would kiss you a lot more if we weren’t always in polite society.”

“Ha! Like you care about that.”

“I care about you.” He kissed her again and whispered, “Just wait til we’re married.”

She blushed.

Leave a comment