Part 456 – Temptation And Khaki Shorts

Ambrose settled back into the passenger side front seat. He closed his eyes and sighed a deep, warm-sounding sigh.

Barbara glanced at him and temptation spoke to her.

I could take him to my house instead.

He’d sleep on the couch.

I’d sleep on my bed.

No harm done.

I’d wake up tomorrow and he’d be there. Right there where I can see him. I can touch him.

Neither of us will cross any lines.

But.

She started the car and pulled out of the parking lot.

How long would we be able to resist?

Would I crack first?

Or would he?

I don’t want to know.

I don’t want to find out.

I don’t want to put either of us in that situation.

He turned his face towards her.

She focused on the road.

No matter how tempting it may be.

***

Dawn crept across the sky, smoothing it with her colors.

Ambrose’s shoes sat side by side under the bed. His clothes banished to the laundry room. Raven had insisted on it.

Ambrose sighed. I could make a big deal about this, but too tired to even care. “I’m going to bed now.”

“Wait. Sir.” Raven dug furiously through Ambrose’s luggage. “Let me get you something decent to wear.”

“Too much bother. I’m just gonna go to bed in my underwear.”

Raven scowled at him. “That is not funny, sir.”

“Who said I was joking?”

Raven redoubled his efforts and unearthed a white tank top and the khaki shorts. “Here. Put this on, sir.”

Ambrose sighed. “You know, those shorts aren’t for sleeping in.”

“They aren’t?”

“No.”

Raven shrugged. “They’ll have to do. Put them on. Sir.”

Ambrose growled. “I’m tired.”

“Very well. I will assist you.”

“Oh, goody.”

***

Barbara gave them a good forty-five minutes before she knocked on the door. “May I come in?”

Raven opened the door. “Yes. He’s finally decent.” He walked away, muttering, “Going to sleep in his underwear. Indeed!”

She entered the room and approached the blanket-covered shape on the bed.

She uncovered his head.

Ambrose slept face into pillow as always. His arms stretched straight past his head.

She smiled and stroked his hair.

He moaned softly in his sleep.

“I love you, Ambrose.” She leaned forward and whispered in his ear, “My answer is still yes.” She kissed his ear. “I’ll see you when night comes.”

 

8 thoughts on “Part 456 – Temptation And Khaki Shorts”

    1. 😀

      I liked showing Raven in butler/bossy mother hen mode. Even if he is clueless about shorts. 😆

      After I posted this part, I worried that she was being slightly hypocritical entering his room after her opening monologue. I considered going back and taking out her entering his room. But I think I’ll leave it in and just rework it a little when I come home from work tonight. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

