Part 2318 – Preyuna’s Interrogation(??)

“I will never be Mark Caten.” Preyuna said it with every bit of conviction she possessed.

“Okay.” Jay said. “I’ll take your word for that.”

She half-turned her head. “I assume there’s more to that statement than just ‘Yeah, sure. Okay.’ Why don’t you go ahead and finish it?”

He released her wrists, catching her off guard. Preyuna turned quickly to face him. She scrutinized his expression.

“You say you aren’t Mark Caten. Okay. Fine. Prove it. Tell me where Robin is.”

“You’re living under the assumption that I know that answer.”

“Because you do.”

“So you foolishly believe.”

“Preyuna, it is a fair exchange. I let you see Isellta. Now, you get to help him. Let him know if Robin’s alive or dead.”

She smoothed down the material covering her wrists. “If I were to tell him that Robin is here, what then? You know as well as I do that Isellta can’t leave these grounds until Mark Caten releases him. And we both know that will never happen.”

Jay seemed to consider it. “If Robin killed Caten—”

“Oh, he will never do that.”

He frowned suspiciously. “How do you know that?”

She fussed with her sleeves one more time before fixing a cold, hard stare on him. “Because I asked him the last time he came here and the simpleton refused. I don’t even know why. Mark is nothing to him. Why should he care if Mark Caten lives or dies? Why doesn’t he want Caten dead? Why would anyone not want to be the cause of Mark Caten’s death?”

“Is Robin still here?”

She scoffed. “Yes, I happen to have him stashed away in my pocket.”

“Preyuna, I’m being serious.”

She looked over at the sleeping fey and was silent for a moment. “I haven’t seen Robin since the last time he came here.”

“And when was that?”

“Oh,” She waved her hand in a vague gesture. “some time ago.”

“Did he leave? Did you see him leave?”

“I told him exactly what I thought about him, turned around, and walked away.” She tilted her head. “Do you tend to stand around and wait for people to leave after telling them off? Do you have any idea how awkward and unnatural that would be?”

“You have a good point.”

“Of course. Will there be any more accusations? Oops. I meant to say, questions.”

“What do you think I’m accusing you of?”

She huffed out a sigh. “Is there any point to answering that question? You seem to already know the answer.”

“You’re being very defensive.”

“Because you’re making me feel defensive, stupid human.”

“Isellta is important to me.” Jay said. “I want him to be happy.”

“As do I.”

“Then, tell me where Robin is.”

“Stupid, stupid human. Is this my kingdom? Am I queen here? Is this my home? Do I have any say in what is done here? No. So, why don’t you go to Mark Caten and—-”

“Caten won’t help and you know it.”

“And you think there’s something I can do about that?”

“Maybe?”

She hesitated.

“If you could just—”

“Just so you know,” Preyuna casually flipped her hair over her shoulder. “This is a very tedious conversation.”

He narrowed his eyes at her.

“I should end it now before I start throwing things at you.”

“And why would you do that?”

“Because you are being irrational and nonsensical and that sort of behavior irritates me.”

“Do you know where Robin is?”

She considered grabbing the low set dresser with her magic and repeatedly slamming it over his head. “Give me one good reason why I would hide him.”

“To keep him from Isellta.”

“Yes, but do you even realize how foolish that would be? As long as Robin is in this building, he could possibly reunite with Isellta, which is something I. Do. Not. Want. No, stupid guard. I would not keep that scarred vampire here. I would convince him to leave as I have done before.”

****

Jay considered her words. He frowned as he thought about the magic in the monitor room and Robin’s scent in the prison cell. “Why are there traces of Robin’s scent in Cell 1.4b?”

Her expression revealed nothing. “You’ll have to ask Mark that question. Are we done with this interrogation?”

“Do you have somewhere better to be?”

She glared at him. “As a matter of fact, yes. But I’m stuck here. Are we done?”

“As a matter of fact—-”

Isellta moaned quietly as he struggled to roll onto his side.

Jay hurried to him. “Shh. I’m here.”

“Are we done, guard?”

“Yes. Go.”

Preyuna left without another word.

Leave a comment