Part 1348 – Going To The Bar (Robin’s Turn)

“Well! I believe that when a person changes into a vampire, it changes everything in that person’s molecular structure. That’s why the change hurts so much.”

A distant expression came over Ambrose’s face. “It happened so long ago, but I still remember. It felt like my skin was being torn open and all of my bones shattered.”

“Same.” Robin said.

The nurse shifted into a more comfortable stance as she warmed up to her, apparently, favorite topic. “I’ve heard some people say the change crystallizes the skin, but I think it’s more complicated than that.”

“Missy.” Raven said.

The nurse kept on talking, but Robin tuned her out. He looked over at Raven.

He watched him talk to Missy.

The way Raven held her hand.

The softness of his voice.

And Robin caught a quick glimpse of a possible future…

Isellta slept in a tight ball, whimpering and shivering.

Robin laid down beside him. “Shh.” He stroked the fey’s bare arm. “Shh. I’m here, ‘sellta. I’m here.”

Isellta uncurled himself and looked at Robin with teary eyes. He sniffled. “Are you real?”

And the moment ended.

Robin felt as if someone had stolen all of the air out of his lungs. He couldn’t breathe.

Why would he ask me that?

What’s goin’ on with him?

What am I missin’?

I gotta go to him.

I have to. I have to.

If someone’s hurtin’ him…

‘sellta.

Barbara giggled at something either Ambrose or the nurse said.

Robin had no clue. He glanced at Ambrose in hope of some explanation and found him doing that LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! look at Barbara.

If Isellta was here…

But he ain’t.

Robin clenched his teeth, marched over to Raven, and punched his arm.

“Ow!” Raven frowned. “What, may I ask, was that for?”

“It’s too warm and stuffy in here and it stinks like body fluids and bleach. I need to go. I need to—-”

But if I go….

He looked at Missy’s unconscious little self.

If I go now, what’ll happen to me? And, sure as there’s plenty of saints in heaven, somethin’s sure to happen to me.

But I’m so freakin’ tired of waitin’.

But if somethin’ goes wrong.

He looked over at Barbara and Ambrose.

His heart sank.

I don’t wanna ruin it all for them.

“I’m gonna go to the bar and try to get my mind from thinkin’ about stuff.”

Raven released Missy’s hand. “Do you want me to come with you, sir?”

“You comin’ with me to the pub or not?”

Isellta’s wings flittered. “Why can’t you make sense for a change? I don’t…I don’t understand you. I keep trying, but I can’t. I can’t. You don’t make sense, Robin. You don’t make sense.”

“Then, I guess that’s a no. Fine. I didn’t want your company anyway.”

Robin shook his head. “I need some quiet time.”

“Quiet time, sir, at a bar?”

“Hey! Don’t knock it. I do a lot of my best thinkin’ there. And don’t worry. I’ll be home before dawn.”

“Very good, sir. I’m. I am going to stay here with her.”

“What? All night?”

“And all day. Until she is ready to come home.”

Robin fidgeted. “What about Ambrose? You still comin’ to his weddin’?”

Raven smiled. “Have no fear, sir. I will be there.”

“Good. Be safe.”

Raven pressed his fist above his friend’s heart. “Do not get staked.”

“Back at ya.”

 

 

Leave a comment