Part 1059 – She Is Gone

Raven leaned against the car.

She’s gone.

Miss Farlington is gone.

I can feel it.

She is gone and she will never return.

And I feel…

He walked over to the front passenger seat and opened the door. “Sir. Could you please drive the rest of the way?”

“Are you all right?”

Raven hesitated. “I don’t know.”

Ambrose got out of the car. “What happened?”

“I saw Miss Farlington out here. I will never see her again. She is gone. I let her go.”

“Are you okay?”

“I have no idea, sir. Would you mind driving while I sort out my feelings?”

Ambrose squeezed his arm. “Not a problem.”

***

Ambrose let up on the accelerator and side-glanced at Raven.

The other vampire stared at his ungloved hands as if they were mighty interesting specimens.

The car swerved into the other lane.

He swore in French and pulled his attention back to driving safely.

***

Barbara relaxed as the car returned to its rightful lane.

She leaned forward and studied Ambrose’s profile.

The blackness of his hair.

The way his hair framed his face.

The line of his jaw.

The length of his eyelashes.

The straightness of his nose.

The shape of his lips.

The overall shape of his face.

He’s temperamental.

He’s willful.

He’s proud.

He’s gentle.

He’s caring.

He’s smart.

He’s romantic.

He’s so much more than just a pretty face.

And I love him.

I love him even with all of his faults.

Maybe I’m a little crazy.

Maybe this will end poorly.

Maybe he will hurt me, bite me, change me.

Maybe he will kill me.

Maybe he won’t be able to stop himself.

But I love him.

I’m willing to jump with him into whatever good or bad the future holds for us.

As husband and wife.

And in only six days.

Her heart raced as she imagined saying the vows and hearing him say them back.

For richer or for poorer. In sickness and in health. Until death do us part.

I’m going to choke on my words.

I’m going to cry.

I can’t wait.

***

I will never see her again. I will no longer catch a whiff of her mulberries and vanilla scent.

May Rose Farlington is gone.

She will never more return.

I ought to be quite upset about this.

I ought to be raging.

I ought to be crying. Sobbing.

I ought to be an emotional wreck.

But I don’t feel like it.

I feel…

He raised his head.

Missy.

His pupils widened.

Miss Farlington is gone. She no longer stands in between Missy and I.

Then.

I’m free.

I can finally propose to her.

Yet.

I want to do this right.

I want my proposal to be unbelievably romantic and memorable.

“Ambrose. Do you know if there are any places around here that can supply a gentleman with a horse-drawn carriage?”

Ambrose stopped half-way through a red light and backed up to behind the white line. “It’s funny you should ask. I don’t, but I believe Sammy does.”

Raven thought it over. “Very good.”

Leave a Reply

