Part 952 – My One Desire

Barbara waited for them to leave.

She ran upstairs into her room and changed her clothes.

***

Ambrose hauled all of his cleaning supplies into the supply closet. He turned around and walked through the double glass doors.

He glanced around and smiled. “Man, I rock.”

Robin raised his head. “Ehh? You done already?”

“Yeah and in record time.”

Robin sat up and rubbed the back of his neck. “Dang!” He snarled. “Why don’t these chairs have neck rests or some sort of neck support system goin’ on?”

“They weren’t meant to be slept on.”

Robin scoffed. “No joke there.”

Ambrose retreated to the other side of the double glass doors and shut the light off.

The front door opened and Barbara entered the scene.

Ambrose ran out to her. “Barbara!”

She ran to him and hugged him.

Robin slumped down in his seat.

Ambrose kissed the side of her head. “I didn’t think I’d see you tonight.”

“What? You thought I’d stay away from you?”

Ambrose smiled. “The thought may have crossed my mind.”

“It never crossed mine.” She kissed him.

He whispered against her lips, “I love you, Barbara Addleston.” He opened his eyes and adored her.

And desire raised its voice.

I want.

Oh, God. I want her so much.

“Ambrose.” she said softly. “Why must time move so slow?”

Robin sighed and stood. “I’m gonna go check on Raven. Make sure he ain’t burnin’ Antioch in effigy in the front yard or some stupidheaded junk like that.”

Ambrose released her. “Be careful out there, Robin.”

“You too. I’d hate to find out you been staked by some cheap rent hunter.”

“Same here.”

Robin gave him a two-finger salute and left.

Ambrose kissed the middle of Barbara’s forehead. “I’m done with work for tonight. You’re here. And the night is all ours.” He kissed the side of her face. “Where should we go?”

She ran her hand through his hair.

He closed his eyes and relished her touch.

“Wherever you want to go.”

He opened his eyes. “I want to take you dancing again.” He laughed softly. “Let’s see if we can scandalize the pros again with our ‘wrongful dancing’.”

She giggled. “Sounds like fun to me.”

***

Robin rubbed the back of his neck as he headed down the street.

It’s good to see Ambrose be all lovey-dovey, but DARNATION!

It makes me miss Isellta even more.

It just ain’t fair.

If he had stayed with me.

If I hadn’t shoved him away, where would we be? Would I have figured out my feelings for him? Or would I still be in a bad case of denial?

Would he still be with me?

He sighed.

But I get to see him in seven days.

Seven.

Days.

Freakin’.

Seven.

DAYS.

I could figure out how many hours and minutes that would be, but there ain’t any point in it. Would just make me more jittery.

But I will see him again.

Really see him.

Face to face.

Hand to hand.

I’m hopin’ mouth to mouth.

He’ll be so happy his wings will hurt from flappin’ so freakin’ hard.

He’ll smile that innocent, sweet smile I love.

I’m gonna lose it.

I know I will.

Bet I’ll physically throw myself on top of him.

Robin imagined the feel of Isellta’s body lying under him, Isellta’s arm reaching up and touching him.

DARN IT!

Why does he make me feel like this?

WHY?

Don’t make one freakin’ cent of sense.

I want him so bad.

GAAAAH! I want him so freakin’ bad!

I wanna run to him and just cover his face with kisses.

Stupid fey.

Darn stupid fey.

Getting me all hot and bothered.

I’ll have to take another cold shower when I get home.

 

Leave a comment