Part 776 – What If He/She Were Changed?

“So, stay here.” She put her coat on and zipped it up. “I’ll be back in the morning.”

“Can’t you just stay with me?”

“I need to hunt.”

“Els—”

“I mean it. Stay here. I don’t want you to get hurt.” She walked over to him.

He held his hands out to her. “Elsie.”

She took his hands and the temperature between them skyrocketed to 3,000 degrees Fahrenheit.

I want to climb all over him.

I want to arouse him in so many ways.

“Elsie.”

She smiled as she remembered his plan.

But not yet.

It’s maddening.

It makes me want to kill my punching dummy.

But.

She released his hands.

I can wait.

“Hildreth. I will wait.”

He lowered his hands and gave her a clueless look.

“I will wait for us. For our first time.” Her smile grew as an idea occurred to her. “Because I have a plan. But I’m not going to tell you what it is.”

“Oh? Why not?”

“Because I want to surprise the living daylights out of you.”

“You aren’t going to charge at me with stakes or some sort of ceremonial dagger, are you? Because, hon. That wouldn’t surprise me. That would freak me out of the room.”

“Idiot. I’ll tell you this much: You’ll like…No. You’ll love the surprise.”

His eyes widened. “Does this involve a lot of cooked bacon?”

She sighed. “No. Because that would be gross.”

“But I’m going to love the surprise.”

She laughed as she imagined his reaction. “You will. Trust me.”

***

Hildreth sighed as she left the room. She could have kissed me one more time.

Hm.

He lowered his foot and set it on the floor. He winced as his ankle sent up electric-like complaints.

Hildreth struggled up into a stand and hobbled over to the front door. He turned on the outside light and stepped outside.

He watched her walk down the driveway.

I should be with her.

Elsie.

My Elsie.

What if she gets hurt?

What if she gets changed?

His mind froze on that question.

She’d come back here.

She’d attack me.

She’d use my love against me.

She’d taunt me.

Break me down.

Wreck me.

I’d have to stake her.

She walked out onto the street and turned right.

Would I be able to do it this time?

Would I fail her the way I failed Master Initskay?

But how could I do it?

How could I kill her?

Elsie.

My Elsie.

He watched her walk out of sight.

I’d have to do it.

I’d want to die.

I’d never be able to get over it. I know I wouldn’t.

Elsie.

My Elsie.

Be safe.

***

Elsie ran down her mental checklist as she walked.

I have stakes.

I have more than enough stakes, but not enough tracker buttons. I’ll have to order more when I get home.

Home.

Hildreth.

I hope he stays out of trouble.

I don’t want him to get hurt.

Or changed.

If he were changed, would he bite me?

Would he try?

Would he be able to resist?

What would I do?

I wouldn’t be able to stake him.

I know it.

I love him too much.

Stupid, silly, romantic, handsome, brown-haired, green-blue eyed him.

If I staked him, he’d be dead.

I wouldn’t be able to kill him, no matter what.

But he would try to change me.

He’d try to kill me.

I don’t think I would have a choice in the matter.

I’d have to stake him.

How would I live without him?

How would I live with myself, knowing that I killed the only man I truly loved?

I’d want to die.

Hildreth.

Be safe.

Leave a Reply

