Part 742 – Trouble For N1

Scents.

So many scents.

My whole world is full of scents.

Some good.

Some bad.

Some I’m desperate to devour.

And I will surely devour them as soon as I wake up and the hunger strikes again.

“Antioch?”

Antioch. That is who I am, but not who I was. Who he was. The man I look like. My foundation. Peter Hastings.

I am his clone.

His memories live on inside my head.

Happy memories I wish were truly mine.

Bad memories of hurt and loss that I did not experience.

Peter Hastings does not matter.

I am Antioch.

That is who I am.

Peter Hastings is dead and gone.

I live on.

That is all that matters.

I am all that matters.

“Antioch.”

Someone who smelled strongly of buttered pecans shook his shoulder and tapped him incessantly.

It was too annoying for Antioch to ignore.

He opened his eyes.

A man stood beside him. His mirrored sunglasses reflected the monitors’ black and white images. “Why are you sleeping in here?”

Antioch sat up and rubbed his forehead. “tired.”

“You okay? You look—”

“Vampire.”

The other man backed away. “You were changed.”

“Yes.” He lowered his hand. “But that doesn’t matter right now. XQ is gone for good. Don’t ask questions. Just know that we are not going to hunt her down. We will hunt down N1 instead.”  He smiled. “I think she’ll make an acceptable replacement for XQ ”

“Shall I send out MLO?”

“Yes. Be sure to tell him that she is not to be harmed in any way.”

“Of course.”

“When you’re done with him, drive me home. I need my bed.”

“Of course.”

Antioch slouched in his seat and fell asleep.

***

N1 sat on her smoothly blanketed bed.

This place is safe.

I am safe.

But I don’t know for how long.

She trembled.

I’ve been here too long. Antioch is going to catch up to me. He’s going to find me.

I need to move.

Need to escape

I wish.

I wish I could just stay still.

I wish that vampire had changed me or killed me. Doesn’t matter which.

Either way, I’d be safe.

I am safe.

Here I am safe.

But I can’t stay here.

I need to run.

I need to outrun him.

If I can.

She got out of bed and left the room.

It would be so easy to give up. To let them take me back.

But I don’t want to be caught.

I need to run.

She walked down the hallway.

I need to get away.

She walked a little faster.

I need to find a new safe place.

A little faster.

I can’t let him find me.

Faster.

I need to run.

Run.

Run!

N1 ran all the way to the shelter’s front door. She pushed the door open and rushed out into the melting snow and bright daylight.

She kept running.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

