Part 738 – Hey, Raven! Wake Up!

Ambrose tucked Barbara’s hair around her ear. “So. Did you come here just for me?” He kissed the outer rim of her ear.

She closed her eyes and reveled in his nearness, in his touch. “Umm. I…I was…umm…”

He whispered her name in her ear.

“Oh!” She opened her eyes and backed away.

Surprisingly enough, he didn’t look hurt or offended. Just curious.

“I came for Missy. The poor girl needs clothes. I’m going to take her clothes shopping.”

“You’re nervous.”

“Not at all.”

“You are. You don’t have to be. I will not cross that line. No matter how much I may want to, I won’t. I will honor your wishes.”

“But it’s tempting.”

“Always.” He smiled. “On the flip side, if that temptation weren’t there, I’d wonder why.”

She blushed. “So would I.”

His eyes glazed over. He wobbled.

Barbara quickly ushered him back to his bed.

Ambrose rolled onto the mattress and face-planted into his pillow. He stretched his arms in parallel lines along his head.

His body softened and relaxed as he fell asleep.

Barbara covered him up.

Is this real?

Do I really love him this much?

Maybe I don’t. Maybe this is a bad case of vampire mind control. Maybe he’s forcing me to think I love him.

He sighed in his sleep.

She smiled.

No.

I don’t think it’s possible for a day exhausted vampire to maintain that level of control over a person’s mind.

She twirled some strands of his hair between her fingers.

Besides that, if he forced me to love him, why would he stop there? Why wouldn’t he break my will and force me to go all the way with him?

She kissed the back of his head. “I love you, kitten.”

***

Heathcliff woke to a bad headache and a large bump on the back of his head. And water sloshing deep around his legs. He rose with an unsteady gait and staggered to the cabin door. But the door was locked.

Doom had come for Heathcliff and he knew beyond any doubt from whence it came.

Edgar Linton.

Heathcliff gnashed his teeth. “He thinks he can keep Cathy all for himself by killing me? I’ll show him wrong. I will escape from this sinking boat and I will bludgeon his face. If I cannot escape, I will haunt him into insanity. I swear upon the love I bear for Catherine Earnshaw. I will.”

The door opened. “Missy?”

Missy surfaced from the book she was reading – “Murder On The Moors” – and looked up. “Huh?”

Barbara entered the room. “Well! I’m here. We’re going to go clothes shopping!”

Missy set the book on the bed and stood. “Can I go as is?”

Barbara contemplated her ensemble. “Probably not. Let’s stop at my house first and I’ll find you something to wear. Are you ready?”

“Yes! Oh.” She turned to her sleeping vampire. “Raven.”

No response.

Missy shrugged. “There’s only one thing to do.” She climbed into bed with him and unbuttoned his shirt.

“Umm.” Barbara put a lot of discomfort in that one small sound.

“Just a second.” She unbuttoned it all the way to his waist and spread it open.

“Umm. Can we just go?”

“In just one second.” She leaned forward and kissed the middle of his chest.

He gasped and opened his eyes.

She smiled at him.

“Missy. I…” Raven looked down and noticed the undone nature of his shirt. “uh. uhh.” He put his hand over the white marks on his neck.

“It’s all right.” She laid her hand on top of his hand. “I’m going to go clothes shopping so I can finally get rid of this get up and wear something pretty and nice and clean and all mine for a change I’ll try not to get anything too slutty though.”

He let out a surprised laugh.

“I’ll be home soon, my pretty shirtless Raven, unless it takes us a lot longer than I expect it to then I won’t be home soon I’ll be home late but I will try my best to be back before you have to go hunting.”

“Don’t worry about it, Missy. Take as long as you need.” Love shined in his eyes. “It is so good to hear your voice again.”

“It is so good to be able to talk again. You have no idea how much I missed it.”

“I know I missed it. I missed you.” He sniffed the air. “But you aren’t alone.” He glanced at Barbara. “Take care of her. Keep her safe.”

Barbara smiled. “I will.”

6 thoughts on “Part 738 – Hey, Raven! Wake Up!”

    1. Thank you so much!

      Whenever I finish a series of scenes with one pair of characters (say Isellta and Jay), I always ask myself which character/character pairing it should logically move on to. Sometimes it’s obvious. Other times I stare at my computer screen and say “I dunno.” 😆

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I totally see the advantage of doing it that way. 🙂

          One thing is for sure. If I had decided t stick with only one perspective (either strictly Ambrose or strictly Elsie), this story would be completely different. Maybe it would be shorter or some how even longer, but it definitely would be a totally different beast. 😀 It’s a fascinating thought.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

