Part 725 – Playing Phone Tag

Missy guided Raven into a sit on the bed.

She unbuttoned his coat.

His head slowly listed to the side as if he were trying to lay it on his own shoulder. The longer side of his hair hung in soft lines away from his face.

She worked his arms out of his sleeves – one arm at a time.

He moaned soft single notes in his sleep.

She laid the coat on the bed and went to work removing his suit coat.

The door opened. “Barbara?”

She turned around.

A man stood in the doorway.

Shaggy black hair.

Black eyes.

Straight nose.

Good looking mouth.

Dark gray hoodie.

Black slacks.

Healthy looking physique.

He looked relieved to see her.

“Who are you?” she asked.

“Ambrose Smith. You aren’t Barbara.”

“Nope. I’m Missy.”

“No last name?”

She shrugged. “No idea.”

His gaze moved from her to Raven and back to her. “Are you his?”

Perhaps it wasn’t the most elegant way to ask the question and there were easily ten better ways to phrase it, but it did the job.

Missy understood what he meant. “I’m his and he’s mine.”

“You aren’t going to stake him or perform hideous experiments on him?”

“No.”

“Can I trust you?”

“I love him.”

Raven started to topple over.

Missy caught him and laid him down on the bed.

He opened his eyes to the half-way point. “Missy.” He reached for her face.

She sandwiched his hands in between her hands.

His arm went limp and his eyes closed.

She kissed his hand. “My lovely, pretty Raven.”

***

Ambrose smiled.

So, Raven found love after all. Good for him. “I’m going back to bed. Good day, Missy.”

“Good day.”

Ambrose returned to his room and changed into his tank top and khaki shorts combo. As he smoothed the tank top over his bare skin, he thought about Barbara.

How soft her skin felt as her fingers moved through his hair.

How good it felt whenever she touched his bare skin.

How much he longed for her touch.

Ambrose laid down and pulled out his cell phone.

He dialed her number and listened to it ring.

He closed his eyes. “Barbara…”

It went to her voice mail.

“Barbara. I know we’ve both agreed not to court temptation. But. I wish you’d come here. Come to me, Barbara, and wake me up. Touch me. Tease me. And I will tease you in return. I will touch you. I will…I…”

He dozed off.

***

“Come to me, Barbara, and wake me up. Touch me. Tease me. And I will tease you in return. I will touch you. I will…I…”

Barbara could barely breathe.

I want to run to him.

Disregard propriety.

Disregard Sammy’s expectations.

Just spend the rest of the day at his side, watching him sleep.

She called him back.

It went straight to his voice mail.

“I love you. If only you knew how much, your head would probably explode. Ambrose. I wish you were here with me. I wish this day was night. I love you. I can’t wait to see you again.”

***

“I love you. I can’t wait to see you again.”

Ambrose bleared a drowsy smile. “I love you too.”

He fell asleep.

2 thoughts on “Part 725 – Playing Phone Tag”

  1. Perhaps it wasn’t the most elegant way to ask the question and there were easily ten better ways to phrase it, but it did the job.

    Barbara understood what he meant. “I’m his and he’s mine.”

    “You aren’t going to stake him or perform hideous experiments on him?”

    I think you wrote Barbara instead of Missy…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

