Part 707 – Pizza Toppings And Lots Of Love

As Elsie spread the pizza sauce on the dough, Hildreth quickly covered it with shredded mozzarella.

Elsie sighed. “Really? I was going to put cheese on it.”

“I know. I was just worried you wouldn’t use enough.” He tossed on another handful.

“Okay. That’s too much.”

“Huh? Too much what? Too much cheese? How can that be possible? That’s like a woman saying ‘That’s too much chocolate.’ It doesn’t compute.”

“I worry about you sometimes.”

He covered the cheese with a dense layer of pepperoni. “Only sometimes?”

She topped the pepperoni with chopped artichokes. “Not as often as you think.”

“Ha!” Sausage crumbles all over the artichokes. “Now, I know that isn’t true. You worry about me all the time.”

“You wish.” Chopped garlic.

“Now, Elsie. Why would I wish for something that’s already true?” Pre-cooked hamburger crumbles.

“Who knows?” Olive oil drizzle.

He frowned at the new addition. “How am I supposed to top that?”

She smiled smugly. “You can’t.”

“Bummer.” He grinned and added another layer of cheese. “Ha!”

She laughed. “You’re so bad.”

“Maybe, but this pizza is going to be awesome.”

“Idiot.” She dipped her finger into the pizza sauce and tapped it on the tip of his nose.

He smiled – a surprised, playful smile. “What? You gonna just leave that there?”

“No.” She kissed it off.

“Hmm, I still see some on there. You might have to lick it off.”

“You’d like that, perv.”

He kissed her. “Yes, I would.”

“Fine.” She licked her fingertip and cleaned the rest of the sauce off his nose.

“Oh, boo! That was not what I had in mind. Boo. Thumbs down, Elsie!”

She laughed and put the pizza in the oven. “I don’t lick noses. It’s gross.”

“But you do kiss them.”

“Yes. So?”

He turned the oven to 450 degrees. “Just saying.”

She gave him an expectant look.

He set the timer and noticed her expression. “So. You should kiss it again. It will make me feel much better.”

“Ha. Ha. Ha. Very funny. But I don’t want to kiss your nose.”

“Aw, man.”

“I’d rather kiss you.”

“Ahh.” He closed his eyes as she ran her fingers through his hair. “Elsie. Els—”

She kissed him.

His mouth.

The tip of his nose.

The space between his eyebrows.

“Hildreth.”

He kissed her neck. “mmm.”

“Do we have to wait?”

“mmm.” He kissed her throat. “I don’t want to, but…” He pulled back. “I have a gut feeling that if we’re patient and wait for our wedding night, we won’t get any interruptions.”

“But I don’t want to wait.”

“Neither do I.” Hildreth hugged her. “But don’t worry. Our wedding day will come soon enough.”

“And then?”

He kissed the side of her head. “And then.”

4 thoughts on “Part 707 – Pizza Toppings And Lots Of Love”

    1. Thank you!

      I had a lot of fun writing this chapter. Especially their pizza topping competition. And I almost had her lick the sauce of his nose, but I thought it would be a whole lot more surprising if she didn’t.

      I’m still worried for poor Hildreth when they finally do get together. Elsie’s so assertive and aggressive she just might pummel the poor guy, especially after all of this waiting. 😆

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

