Part 703 – Convincing Missy

Raven sat next to her feet on the surgical table.

It was all for naught.

I can’t ask for her help now. I know she won’t grant it.

I’m tired.

I just want to sleep.

Antioch looked at Missy and drooled. “hungry.”

Raven glared at him. “She is off limits. You are not to touch her without my permission. And you will never have my permission.”

Antioch backed away from her and wiped his mouth. “so hungry.”

Raven looked down at his white gloves. He had forgotten to take them off when he was fighting Antioch and they were quite ruined with holes in all of the fingertips.

He sighed. And another pair wasted.

“Missy.” He didn’t look at her. He  couldn’t bear to look at her. “I will not ask for your forgiveness. I do not deserve it. What I have done cannot be undone other than by death. I don’t see how you could forgive me. What I did was wrong and unnecessary. There were other ways I could have made him cooperate. I just lost my wits. He hurt you. He wanted to kill you.”

His hands curled into fists. “I couldn’t stand by and watch him kill you.”

“hungry.” Antioch whispered. He sank to the floor and wrapped his arms around his stomach. “uhhh….hungry.” He slumped onto his side.

How could you ruin him like that? He was kind to me. He cared for me. He took care of me.

He pushed his anger down and kept his voice calm and steady. “It is because of him that you have no voice, Missy. It is because of him that you are trapped here.”

He was the only one here who spoke kindly to me.

Raven raised his head. “He intended to sell you to the highest bidder.”

Her mind went silent.

“To him, you were nothing but a weapon to be bought and sold and used. And who would he have sold you to? To the bored and idle gentry? To terrorists? How would they have treated you? Did it matter to him? If you were captured and tortured, would he come to your rescue?”

Yes.

“No. But I would. I would go anywhere, do anything to save you.”

But you didn’t have to change him.

“No. I didn’t.” A new path lit up inside his head. “He needs your help, Missy. He has no memory of his past. It’s an unfortunate side effect of being changed into a vampire. Some do remember. Others never do. Help him.”

She faced him. How?

“Show him your memories.” As he said those four words, he saw the roadblock drop into place. “I know those memories are painful, but…”

He has a right to know who he is.

“And what he has done to you. Every detail you can remember.”

She shook her head and Raven was not surprised. I’m scared. Those memories scare me. I’ll have bad dreams and I won’t be able to sleep and I’ll be up all night and I’ll get bags under my eyes and I’ll become a full-fledged insomniac and my brain will go to rot and then I’ll hallucinate and that will just scare me more and—–

“Missy. I’m here. If you need me, I’m here. I’ll hold you. I’ll comfort you.”

You’ll take your shirt off?

Raven laughed – a short, surprised laugh. “If need be there.”

3 thoughts on “Part 703 – Convincing Missy”

    1. It’s never easy for my poor characters. If it looks like it’s a straight line from Point A to Point B, you can bet that there will be a couple of road blocks and dead ends in the way. Because trouble free situations are no fun to write. There always has to be some complication. 😀

      And, for the record., you really don’t want to make Raven angry. 😆

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

