Part 685 – Isellta’s Temptation

Robin sat down and glowered at the rolling static.

Her again.

What? She didn’t get enough of him last time?

I should just go.

I don’t want to see them doing it all over again.

But.

I want to see him again.

Maybe it will come back on line.

I’ll wait.

***

“You’re making a terrible mistake, Isellta.”

“Maybe.”

“You have no idea what Mark Caten could do to you, just on a whim.”

“I know, Your Majesty. But I can’t.”

She smiled knowingly and turned into Robin.

Isellta stumbled back in shock.

He strolled up to Isellta and stroked his face.

Isellta trembled.

“Would you be willing to do it with me?”

It isn’t him.

Robin’s hands trailed down his face to the sensitive spot along the trec lun bone on Isellta’s wings.

Oh!

Robin smiled. His fingers rubbed the spots just right.

Isellta cried out.

I wish it were him.

But it isn’t.

It isn’t!

“Stop!”

Robin faded back into Preyuna. “So. He was able to get a reaction from you. Why?”

Isellta knelt before her. He felt worse than naked. He felt utterly exposed as if she had torn his heart open and dumped all of its secrets on the floor.

He wrapped his arms across his chest.. I wish I could melt into the floor. “I’m sorry, Your Majesty. I don’t know.”

“Why him? He has a scar on his face. His one eye is useless. You could do so much better. You could have me.”

“I’m sorry, Your Majesty. I just don’t know. But I can’t do it with you. I know this for certain.”

“Why?”

His wings flittered. “I don’t know. It doesn’t make sense. Maybe it’s because that first time was so hurtful. I just can’t. I don’t want to. Not even if you turn back into Robin.”

“I see.”

“Your Majesty. If things were different. If—”

“This conversation is over, Isellta. There’s nothing more you can say to me.” She made another hand gesture and all of the monitors flashed back on. “Good night.”

Isellta waited until she left. He stood and looked back at the monitors.

Robin was still there.

“Robin.” He stroked the black and white image. “I love you.”

***

Robin’s uncertainty melted away.

He smiled as Isellta’s fingers moved down in a vertical line.

Stupid little fey.

Why don’t you come home to me?

“I miss you and all of your stupidness. Isellta. Come home.”

***

Isellta frowned.

He said an awful a lot of words.

I don’t understand any of them.

The door opened and Jay entered the room. “Hey. You all right?”

Isellta smiled at him and flapped his wings. “Yes. Thank you.”

“Preyuna didn’t attack you or anything, did she?”

He contemplated the different definitions of the word “attack” and applied it to her behavior. “I guess she tried to.”

“You okay?”

“She didn’t hurt me.”

“Are you okay?”

He nodded.

“Good. Because she looked like she wanted to fricassee the world when she left this room.”

Isellta smiled. “Maelin is lucky to have you.”

Jay looked surprised. “Where’d that come from?”

“You’re very nice. Probably the only nice person here.”

“Some days it feels like it.” He glanced at the occupied monitor and smiled. “But I’ll just step outside a bit. Looks like someone’s waiting for you.”

“Thank you for being so kind to me. You don’t know how much I appreciate it.”

He rumpled the fey’s hair. “I know.”

Leave a Reply

