Part 678 – It’s Just The Stupid Stupidness Of You

Raven returned to Missy. “Robin.”

“Huh?”

Raven guided her up into a sit and sat beside her. Missy automatically slumped to his shoulder.

Robin walked over to him. “Whaddya want?”

“If you prefer not to speak of it, very well. I understand.”

“Yeah, but?”

“Isellta.”

Robin bristled.

“Please, sir. Attempt to remain calm.”

“I ain’t making promises.”

“Just hear me out, sir.”

Robin shrugged.

“I…”

Missy slid her hand up his chest. Her fingers grabbed onto his shoulder.

Raven kissed her head.

She relaxed her grip, but her hand stayed put.

“I come from a world, a society that differs dramatically with the one you’ve been raised in. I believe that men belong with women and women belong with men. It is how I was raised. It is what I believe.”

Robin folded his arms across his chest. “Uh-huh.”

“I…ehmm…was wondering about you and Isellta.”

“None of your business.”

“It is my business when you go stamping about, pitching fits because Isellta had a special moment with someone other than you.”

“Special moment my mother’s gray sick cat! He was all over her. He was…” Hurt showed on his face. “He liked it. He enjoyed it. He…”

“He is a young, unattached fey. Is his business any of yours?”

‘SHUT UP!”

“Answer my question.”

“Why?”

“Because I don’t understand why you’re so fired up about it.”

He stomped his foot on the floor again. “MIND YOUR OWN—-”

“Robin.”

“I don’t know. I don’t know what you want me to say. I don’t know why his flingtastic time with that fey woman bothers me. I don’t even know how I feel about him.”

“Are you in love with him?”

Robin turned and walked to the open doorway. “It’s too warm in here. I need fresh air.” He left the room.

***

Robin trembled as he walked down the hall.

In love with him.

Me. In love. With him.

Me.

In love.

With Isellta.

Isellta.

“Robin.” He looked up at him and smiled. It was a simple, guileless smile accentuated with a happy wing flap.

“Isellta.”

Olessa smiled. “Let’s see what happens if I inject holy water into your shoulder.”

Isellta looked at him.

“Isellta. Get the pre-filled syringe.”

His wings flittered. “Olessa. I don’t think—”

She laughed. “Who cares what you think? Syringe. Now.”

Robin stopped.

He tried to talk her out of it.

How many other times did he try?

But he slept with that fey. Probably slept with Olessa too.

Why does that bother me?

He resumed walking.

Isellta doesn’t belong to me and I don’t belong to him.

Do I love him?

I can’t believe I’m even asking myself this stupid question. I happen to like women. So there. Guys are not my thing. Never have been. Never will be.

So.

Why?

Why does this one scrawny fey mess my mind so bad?

In love with him….Ha! Not likely.

If I ever see him again, I’ll punch him so hard he won’t even know how to count to five.

If I ever see him again…

What if I don’t?

So what? Who cares? I don’t.

I want to see him again.

That stupid girly face of his.

That stupid smile.

That stupid voice.

That stupid stupidness of stupid him.

I want to see it again.

He stopped by the elevator and thought about it for fifteen seconds.

He climbed aboard and went down to the first floor.

Leave a Reply

