Part 656 – Breaking And Entering

So many things could go wrong tonight. There are so many things I don’t know. So many details that are shaded out blanks.

Have they increased security?

Have they moved Missy to a different location?

Has Antioch done more things to her?

Will she recognize me?

Will she know me?

Will she leave with me?

Will Antioch influence her again?

Will—

Robin slapped the back of Raven’s head. “Quit worrying or I’ll punch you.”

“What? I didn’t say anything, sir.”

“Didn’t have to. You had that whole neurotic mess look on your face.”

Raven sighed. “There are far too many unknowns.”

Robin punched his upper arm. “Don’t make your black hair gray. We’ll figure stuff out. We did last time.”

“Last time was a disaster.”

“I’ve seen worse. I’ve actually lived through worse. There was this stage production of Arsenic and Old Lace I was in. That was a Code Black level of disaster. Remind me to tell you about it sometime.”

They stopped at The Institute’s front door.

Robin cracked his knuckles again. “Time to go destructo.”

Raven thought about Missy.

He thought about her stolen voice.

He thought about all of the things Antioch could have done to her during the day.

And I wasn’t there to stop him.

I wasn’t there to protect her.

Raven unsheathed his claws.

I will stop him.

He growled.

That monster will not hurt my Missy again.

“So, do we knock or—”

He will not touch her ever again!

Raven attacked the door with his claws.

Robin didn’t say a word. He just quietly backed away.

Missy.

She sat on the desk with a book in her hand.

Missy.

She kissed his chest.

“Missy.”

She tied the tablecloth of horrors around his waist.

“Missy!”

She looked up at him. Her voice was gone, but she smiled at him.

The door buckled and bent and warped and shattered.

Raven stood there, panting.

“I hate to be that guy, but you could have just tried the doorknob first.”

Raven snarled at him.

“Or whatever.”

Raven strode into The Institute.

Robin followed. “Raven.”

“What, sir?”

“I get you’re all worked up.” He grabbed Raven’s shoulder and pulled him to a stop. “Be careful. I like you. I don’t want to see you get staked because you were running on stupid.”

Raven laid his hand on top of Robin’s hand. “Thank you.”

Robin squeezed his shoulder. “Stay out of trouble.”

“You too, sir.”

They released each other at the same time.

“You know what to do, Robin.”

“And you. Remember: You need me, scream as loud as you can. I’ll come runnin’.”

“Likewise, sir.”

The two vampires went their separate ways.

Leave a Reply

