Part 639 – Please Excuse Me. I Need To Die Now.

Raven frowned.

My blanket…It’s all wrong.

Bunched up by my feet.

One shoulder covered, one exposed.

It is unlike me to be so slipshod.

His frown deepened as he became aware of other details.

My bottom is all wet.

I feel cold and…so bare.

He opened his eyes and glanced at his exposed arm.

Only to discover that his arm wasn’t the only body part getting exposure.

“Wha…?”

He uncovered his other arm.

“Wha…?”

He raised his blanket and witnessed all the bareness going on under there.

He lowered the blanket and laid his head back down.

What exactly happened last night?

He ran his hand through his hair.

Only to discover that even his hair was out of order.

It was all fluffed out.

“No. No. nononono!”

He rushed out of bed and discovered the tossed about clothes.

He stopped and stood about in a stunned state.

What did I do last night?

He tried to run his hand through his hair again, but its fluffiness bothered him too much. He just couldn’t bear to touch it.

Raven sat on the edge of the bed.

What happened last night?

His day exhaustion knocked him flat on his back.

He closed his eyes and struggled to remember.

Missy.

We went to rescue Missy.

The Institute.

He opened his eyes.

She was there.

Missy was there.

Her voice was gone.

We tried to escape.

His pupils widened as he remembered her attack.

We need to return.

He sat up a little too fast. His head weebled and wobbled.

Raven pressed his hand against his forehead until everything stabilized. He rose to his feet, plodded to the door, swung the door open, stepped into the hall.

Right into Barbara’s line of sight.

He didn’t wait for her reaction.

He returned to his room, locked the door, and went to die in bed.

***

Barbara shook her head.

I think I just saw a nearly naked Raven.

She headed towards Ambrose’s room.

I’m going to pretend that didn’t happen.

She opened the door and turned on the light.

“Oh.”

His blanket lay smooth and unruffled on his bed.

She entered the room and searched for him.

He wasn’t there.

“Well. That’s disappointing.”

Barbara?

She perked up. “Ambrose.”

She left the bedroom and ran down the hallway.

Just as he was running up it.

Ambrose caught her in his arms and hugged her. “Oh, Barbara. I missed you.”

“Silly. It hasn’t been that long.”

He kissed her forehead and worked his way down to her mouth.

She gladly returned his kisses until she felt it again.

She stopped. “Ambrose. What’s wrong? You’re trembling. What’s wrong? Are you hurt?” Her face paled. “Did you get the results? Are they bad?”

“No, it isn’t that. Tired.”

“Let’s sit down in the living room.”

“‘kay.”

She wrapped her arm around his waist. “And no fair dropping unconscious on me.”

“‘kay.”

Barbara guided him all the way to the couch in the living room.

He dropped onto the couch and leaned his head back with his eyes closed.

She knelt on the cushion next to him. “Ambrose. What’s wrong?”

He sighed. “I was with Kevin all night until now.”

“Oh.” I don’t want to know. I don’t want to hear it. I’m scared. “Is he…How is he?”

He didn’t answer.

“Ambrose.”

No response.

She sat back and thought things over.

I shouldn’t.

It’s wrong.

But it will certainly get his attention.

Barbara turned his closest hand right side up and gently unfolded his fingers. She touched his middle finger just below the claw bump on his fingertip.

Her index finger glided down his middle finger in a soft, barely there touch. It twirled in luxuriant circles on his palm. As the circles tightened to the middle of his palm, his fingers stretched to full length. His claws extended.

She reached the very middle of his palm.

Ambrose arched his head back and made a sound that was something between a grunt and a moan.

He opened his eyes and lay there, panting.

“Ambrose, I—”

He looked at her with hungry expectation.

She hurried off the couch.

He frowned. “That isn’t fair. I would never do that to you without your permission.”

“I’m sorry.” Her face burned with embarrassment and shame. “I’m just going to go. I…I shouldn’t have even come here.”  She fled to the front door.

Leave a Reply

