Part 632 – Isellta’s Memory

Isellta stood before Elder Fae Naela in his red and gold marbled office.

He kept his hands flat at his sides.

He desperately tried to keep his wings still.

Elder Fae Naela laid his hands on his black onyx desk. “Isellta. I assume you know why I have summoned you.”

He nodded.

“We have been patient with you. We have hoped that you would mature into a proper fey’s mindset.”

“I have tried, Elder Fae.”

“Maybe. But that outburst this morning—”

Isellta’s wings flittered in irritation.

The Elder gave him a cold look.

Isellta flattened his wings.

“As I was saying. That outburst this morning was too much, too inappropriate. You should know better.”

“I do, Elder Fae. I’m sorry, Elder Fae. I don’t know what came over me, Elder Fae.”

“The schie a kehn have had enough of your behavior. You are to cross the Dividing Line to Pinkerlee. There is a vampire hunter there who needs an assistant. Her name is Olessa Caten.”

“But Elder Fae…I’ve never killed anyone before.”

“She doesn’t need that kind of assistant. She works with a human company called The Institute.”

“What does she do?”

A pained look came over the elder’s face. “Experiments.”

Experiments. Ex. Peer. A. Mints? “What does that mean?”

The elder took a breath and sighed. “She takes vampires and other extraordinaries. She runs tests on them to find their weaknesses.”

“Tests. What does that mean?”

“Isha ve Hahn.”

Isellta lost control. His wings flared out. “I can’t. I can’t. I can’t help someone like that.” The feathers on his wings bristled. “It doesn’t make sense. It isn’t right. I can’t. Don’t make me. Please. Send me anywhere else, to anyone else.”

“The schie a kehn has decided.”

“But—”

“Their decision is final.”

Isellta’s wings calmed down and flattened. “When do I leave?”

“Tomorrow morning.”

“Can I…Can I ever come back here?”

The Elder Fae’s expression was as cold as the depths of the Antarctic Ocean. “No. You are not wanted.”

***

Isellta sat up in bed.

It’s been a long time since I’ve thought of that moment. I wonder why I dreamed it.

Doesn’t make sense.

He pulled out the stolen corkscrew. Such a treasure.

He ran his fingers over it and smiled in delight over its perfect design. His wings flapped.

Robin.

He lowered his hands into his lap.

Robin.

Why am I thinking of him? Doesn’t make sense.

He saw the anger on his face.

Heard the hatred in his voice.

Felt the sharp sting of his blow.

If I escape, where will I go?

I can’t go home.

I can’t go to Robin.

So, where do I go?

He perked his head up.

I wonder if Robin is still in that other monitoring room.

No.

He left it.

I wonder if he saw me. If he did, what did he think? What did he say? Was he happy? Was he sad?

Did he miss me?

No, that’s nonsensical.

There is no way that someone like him would miss someone like me.

He flopped back onto his pillow.

It doesn’t make sense.

It’s stupid human logic or the lack thereof.

But.

I would really like it if he did miss me.

Maybe just a little.

Leave a Reply

