Part 608 – Why Do You Love Me?

Elsie waited in the living room as Hildreth changed his clothes.

I’ll have to go back home and pick up my hunting supplies. Maybe I should go now while I’m waiting.

Maybe I should go see what’s taking him so long. With a certain amount of luck, I’d probably catch him in his underwear and convince him that I’m a total closet perv.

She sighed.

And I am not a perv. Closeted or otherwise.

So there.

“Sorry I took so long.”

She looked up at him as he entered the room.

And she saw him as him.

Not as a hunter.

Not even as her fiancé.

She saw him as just a man.

Strong.

Tall.

Handsome with gorgeous green-blue eyes.

He smiled and she felt weak.

Thank goodness I’m not standing.

“You know, you shouldn’t stare like that. Most cultures find that level of staring to be rude.”

“Oh.”

He strolled over to her. “Some even consider it an insult.”

“Oh.” How have I not noticed? How have I not seen it all along? This man.

How did I luck out so much?

He waved his hand in front of her face. “Hello? You spacing out there, Vansing?”

“Why do you love me?”

He lowered his hand. “What?”

“Someone like you could have anyone he wants. Why me?”

“Why not you?”

She had no idea how to answer that without babbling. So, she refrained.

He sat beside her. “I love you. I could be superficial and say I love you because you’re so mad crazy hot and it would be true. But it’s more than that. I love you. I love the crazy hot-headed fire-blooded you that you are here—” He pressed his fist above her heart. “—-right here inside. You make me feel so tangled up and weird.”

“Oh, there’s a good compliment. Thanks.”

“I mean it.” He laughed. “And I mean it in a good way. I want to protect you even though I know you can protect yourself. I want to keep that vampire away from you even though I know he’s no longer a threat. I want to make you happy even when you make me feel frustrated and hurt and…I love you. I love you so much it steals my words away.”

She arched an eyebrow at him. “After a speech like that, you still expect me to wait until May 21?”

He smiled. “It’s just a few more days, just a couple more weeks.”

“And then we’ll have the rest of our lives.”

“And you’ll be Mrs. Elsie Mayhew.”

“Elsie Mayhew.”

He grinned. “And you’ll still be worried about me.”

She lightly punched his upper arm. “Only because you’re such an idiot.”

4 thoughts on “Part 608 – Why Do You Love Me?”

    1. Thank you!

      I think Elsie fell in love with him based on his personality and how he treated her rather than his looks. So, now she’s just starting to actually notice him. (Doesn’t help that she was mentally stuck on Ambrose for the longest time.)

      And, for the record, I almost feel bad about keeping them waiting. Almost. 😆

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

