Part 599 – I’m So Hungry

Night fell…

Ambrose moaned in his sleep as his hunger took hold of him.

hungry.

hungry.

“don’t wanna get up.”

A familiar hand ran through his hair from the back of his neck to the top of his head.

Ambrose turned his head and caught her semi-sweet chocolate and vanilla bean scent. He smiled and opened his eyes.

There she was standing beside his bed. “Barbara.”

“Good morning, sleepy.” She kissed his head.

The overwhelming power of her scent widened his pupils. “You shouldn’t be in here. I’m…” He pressed the back of his hand against his mouth. “I’m so hungry.”

“I know.”  She stroked his face.

He could feel the oils of her scent stick to his skin.

“We’re going to see Father Landover tonight and decide on a date. So, you go out there and get your hunting done. Come back here to me. I’ll be waiting for you.”

He shook his head. “Not here. Don’t forget: I’m not the only vampire in this house. I’ll come to you. Wherever you want me to go, I’ll meet you there.”

She smiled mischievously. “We could meet at The Red Envelope.”

He laughed despite the hunger he felt. “No. If that fey waitress saw us come in together, she’d forcibly kick us out.”

“She probably would.”

He lowered his hand and smiled love at her. “You are an amazing young woman.”

“That’s true.”

“Ha! Brat.”

She giggled. “But what makes you say that this time?”

“You just told me to go hunting as if I’m hunting deer. But I’m not hunting deer or any other animal. How can you take that so well?”

“Sheer determination! That and seeing what you’re like when you are hungry. If you need me to—”

“No. Not tonight. Not ever again. I don’t want to hurt you. I don’t…” He winced as his hunger reached fever pitch. He dug his claws into his blanket and looked away from her. “I need to leave.”

“I understand.” She kissed him.

His claws sank into the mattress.

“Meet me at my place.”

He panted. “Go. I’ll meet you there.”

“I love you.”

He looked up at her. His expression was somewhere between love and something a whole lot more feral. “I love you too. Grab the birth certificate and baptismal certificate off the dresser. Take them with you. I don’t…” He hissed a breath between his teeth. “Don’t want to forget.”

He watched her walk to the dresser, take the two papers, and head to the door.

She’s not paying attention.

I could.

I could.

He bowed his head and reluctantly pressed it against the mattress. He listened to her leave the room.

chase her

stop her

bite her

change her

drink her empty

kill her

Oh, God! Help me. Please help me!

He could hear her footsteps going down the stairs.

Out the front door.

Into the driveway.

“uhh uhh uhh…”

He slumped onto the bed and listened to her car back out and drive away.

His body relaxed, but he was still hungry.

He retracted his claws and wiped the drool from the corners of his mouth. He rose from the bed. “Time for breakfast, lunch, and supper all in one bite.”

4 thoughts on “Part 599 – I’m So Hungry”

Leave a Reply

