Part 579 – I Can Feel Something In The Air Tonight

Raven leaned his face against the top of her head.

I wish I could have done this with Miss Farlington.

Just once.

One small moment and nothing more.

Hm?

He raised his head and listened.

It’s quiet.

It’s all too quiet.

“Something is not right.”

He put Missy to bed.

She curled up into the tightest ball possible.

What kind of life has she known? Has it been nothing but suffering and fear and pain? Were there never any bright moments?

He covered her with his blanket and smoothed it flat. “I’ll be right back.”

He left the room and carefully closed the door.

His day exhaustion rocked his world in the completely wrong sort of way.

He leaned back against the door and stared up at the ceiling.

That didn’t help all that much. The ceiling jittered and swirled until he found himself lying on the floor.

Raven stayed down there until the dizziness passed. He pushed himself up into a sit.

His pupils widened in alarm.

Something was wrong. He could feel the wrongness wreathing the air.

He rose to his feet and ran/stumbled to Ambrose’s room. He yanked the door open and rushed over to the bed.

Ambrose was there sound asleep.

He wasn’t hurt.

He wasn’t in danger.

But the wrongness in the air did not dissipate.

Raven moved on to Robin’s room.

Robin wasn’t in bed.

Isellta wasn’t in his chair.

“No. Please not again.”

He returned to Ambrose’s room and shook him.

“Asded fffa…”

“Mr. Smith. Ambrose. Sir. Please wake up.”

Ambrose opened his eyes to an irritable half-mast. “If this isn’t important, I’ll tear your head off and throw it to the werewolves.”

“Where’s Robin?”

“Not important. Prepare to lose your head.”

“He isn’t here. It’s still daylight. He…he isn’t here and something’s wrong. Where did he go?”

Ambrose rubbed his hand against his forehead. “nnngh. I don’t know.”

“Please. Please help me. I can’t lose him. I can’t.”

Ambrose gave him a scrutinizing look. “Okay. Fine. I’m tired. I want to sleep. But sure. What the heck. I’ll help you.”

“Where would he go?”

Ambrose covered his face with his hands. “Try The Red Envelope. That’s where Robin found his scrawny lover last time.”

“Will you come with me?”

Ambrose uncovered his face and burst out laughing. “Some search and rescue team we’ll be. He’ll probably waltz right past us and we’ll be too out of it to even notice.”

“We can’t wait till night.”

“I know that.” Ambrose got out of bed.

Raven winced.

“What’s your problem?”

“You…Sir, you went to bed in your regular clothes.”

“Yeah? So?”

His gaze traveled all over Ambrose’s outfit. “Wrinkles. So many wrinkles.”

“Are we gonna look for Robin or not?”

Raven tore his horrified gaze from the wrinkles. “Yes.”

Ambrose smirked. “You gonna go out in your little striped pajamas?”

Raven looked offended. “I was planning to change first. Sir.”

“I bet you were.”

 

3 thoughts on “Part 579 – I Can Feel Something In The Air Tonight”

Leave a Reply

