Part 566 – The International House Of Hamburgers

Hildreth stared at the menu, almost unable to process the worlds of hamburger wonderment. “So many possibilities.”

Elsie searched for the low-cal options. She flipped through page after page after page of hamburger varieties. An uneasy thought occurred to her. She went to the dessert page and almost gagged. “Why? Just why? Why would they do that to cheesecake?”

Hildreth snapped out of his protein daze and checked out the desserts. “What?” His mouth dropped open. “Hamburger and bacon cheesecake drizzled in A-1 sauce.” He looked up at her. “We are so having our reception here.”

“If we do, I’m not coming. I would die. I would get sick and die.”

“Hmm. Maybe if they went light on the…Ooo. You could substitute Worcestershire sauce for the A-1 sauce.”

Elsie gave him a disgusted look.

He grinned. “So, what is your grand decision?”

She shook her head. “I don’t know. There’s so…so much to choose from.”

“Tell you what. I’ll spare you this time around. You can split with me.”

“You aren’t going to choose the sloppiest and greasiest and—”

He laughed. “—and cheesiest. Mm-hmm.”

“Hildreth. Don’t you dare. I’ll clobber you.”

“You probably would.” He looked over the menu again. “So many possibilities. Ooo, the Texan burger sounds like something I would make.”

She read the description.

It made her stomach hurt in a most uncomplimentary way.

“Okay! I think I’m ready.”

“What are you going to get?”

“You’ll see.”

“It’s the Texan, isn’t it?”

He winked at her. “You’ll see.”

The waiter must have detected Hildreth’s readiness. He just popped out of nowhere. “Are you ready to place your order?”

“Yes. We’re just getting one sandwich to split.”

“Okay. Split deal…Which one?”

He’s going to say the Texan. Just to bug me.

“The Japanese Rice Bowl Burger.”

Elsie frantically flipped through her menu, expecting some sort of high caloric horrorfest. She found it and read the description. “Oh.” She looked up at Hildreth. “Are you sure that’s what you want?”

“One hundred percent sure.”

“What would you like to drink?”

“Large root beer.” said Hildreth.

“Iced tea.” said Elsie.

“All right. I’ll bring your food out shortly.”

As the waiter disappeared, Elsie looked at Hildreth. “Are you really sure you want that? It has no meat in it. It’s some sort of rice and soybean concoction.”

“I know.” He looked love at her.

She fidgeted as she understood what went unsaid. “You don’t have to do this for me. If you want to get that Texan nightmare—-”

“Elsie. It’s all right. You did tell me I should start eating healthier. Consider this my first step.”

“What about that tofu burger in the hospital?”

“Nuh-uh. That one doesn’t count. It was foisted on me. This one counts because I chose it.”

No matter what he says, I know he’s doing this for me.

She smiled.

I think I’m falling even more in love with him.

The idiot.

6 thoughts on “Part 566 – The International House Of Hamburgers”

    1. Thank you!

      Things are so happy and lovely between them, I’m just aching to throw another wrench in there. (I know. I’m just so bad. πŸ˜† ) But I’m holding a particularly big wrench in reserve for a future chapter. So, I’ll let them enjoy their quiet moments. For now. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!

      Certain things have to happen first, but the wrench will definitely come. And, I feel like it’s a horrible thing to admit, but I am so looking forward to it. 😦 But no spoilers here as to what that wrench will be. πŸ˜‰ I’d love to give out small hints, but. Nope. No hints. No spoilers. Just one big wrench waiting to fall from the rafters.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

