Part 539 – An Understanding

A bad case of the jitters came over Barbara.

She got off the couch and furiously straightened up things that really didn’t need the straightening up.

What I felt.

What I wanted.

Her face flamed.

Maybe we shouldn’t spend so much alone time together. It’s too dangerous. Too much of a temptation.

Maybe we need to invest in a good chaperone. Maybe a gargoyle.

He came back inside, rubbing his hands up and down his arms. “Brr. It’s too cold out there.”

Barbara stopped and looked at him.

I want to run to him.

I want to…

“It felt good at first, but then the wind started blo—What’s wrong?”

She shook her head. “Nothing. I was just thinking.” She strolled over to him. “That’s all.”

“I’ve been thinking too.”

“Oh? About what?”

“About my coming over here. I love it. I love being with you with no distractions. With just me and just you. But I got to thinking about what you said before about temptations. Me being alone with you like this…It’s what I want, but it’s a regular stew pot of temptations. I feel like every time I come over, we edge closer and closer to that point of no return.”

“I know. I feel it too.”

“You do? It isn’t just me then.”

She smiled. “Oh, it’s completely you.”

I want to run my hands all over him.

She blushed. “It’s definitely, completely you.”

A slow smile spread across his face. “Are you thinking provocative thoughts about me?”

Her blush deepened. “No comment. Maybe you shouldn’t come over here anymore.”

His smile fell and his posture stiffened. “Are you going to uninvite me?”

“No. Although, that would be one way to keep us out of trouble. Still, it seems kind of extreme. Are…are you okay with not coming over here anymore?”

He hugged her and she melted into his arms. “If you had asked me that eight, nine months ago, I probably would have pitched a complete obnoxious jerk fit. But now. Now, I understand.” He laughed.

“What? What’s so funny?”

“You did it.” He released her. “I didn’t think it was possible, but you did it.”

“What?”

“On our first date, you said I couldn’t be domesticated. And now, here I am bowing to your whims, yielding to what you want instead of plowing ahead and demanding what I want.”

“You make that sound like a bad thing.”

“It isn’t. It’s amazing. You did it all without trying, without ever once telling me that I need to change this about myself and I need to change that about myself. For the most part, you’ve accepted me as I am and still. I’ve changed into someone better. It’s just like magic.”

“Not necessarily magic. You’ve gone through a lot of hell and high water these past several months. For you to endure all of that and remain unchanged? That would have been some real magic.’

“Or sheer stubbornness.”

She giggled. “Or sheer stubbornness.”

He laid his hands on her shoulders and gently pulled her into a kiss.

She opened her eyes and looked into his black eyes. “I love you, Ambrose Smith. Come hell or high water, I will always love you.”

Leave a Reply

