Part 533 – Lovers And The Odd Man Out

Sammy put his coat on and left his office.

All things put into perspective, it’s been a good day. I got a lot of stuff done. We have three new potential hires.

And I haven’t broken anything of value.

He stopped at the double glass doors leading to the lobby. He laid his hand on the door to push it open.

He froze.

Ambrose was at Barbara’s desk

Barbara was in Ambrose’s arms.

Her hand was on his face as she kissed him.

The glass under Sammy’s hand chinked. Cracks radiated from it.

Ambrose and Barbara reluctantly separated.

The glass stopped cracking as Sammy watched them interact.

The way he looked at her as she talked to him.

The way he touched her.

The way he made her laugh.

The way she made him laugh.

The undeniable spark between them.

I honestly don’t stand a chance.

The glass continued to crack.

Sammy pushed the door open and walked up to her desk. “I’m going home, Ms. Addleston.”

Ambrose gave her one last look before retreating to his broom and dust pan.

“Have a good night, Sammy!”

“And you as well, Ms. Addleston.” He glanced at Ambrose, who was busy sweeping the floor. “Good night, Mr. Smith.”

Ambrose waved at him and kept on sweeping.

Sammy walked out to his car, unlocked the front door, and opened it.

His thoughts returned to Barbara and Ambrose.

His car door window exploded.

Sammy closed the door and dusted the glass shards off himself.

He walked to the forest behind Sammy’s Place and transformed into a dragon. He leapt up into the sky and flew.

He had no destination in mind.

He just needed to get away from everything.

So, Sammy flew through the night.

***

Barbara put her coat on and walked out into the lobby.

Ambrose had finished his sweeping and was now vacuuming around the chairs.

“Hey, handsome.”

He shut the vacuum cleaner off and turned to face her.

“I’m going home now.”

“So soon?”

“Mmm.”

“Couldn’t you stay a little longer?”

Something in his expression made her want to shout, “Oh heck yes!” Instead, she smiled. “Well, normally I would stay, but I have a bad feeling I’d distract you.”

“Oh, you have a bad feeling about it, huh?” He abandoned the vacuum cleaner.

“See? I did it. I got you all distracted.”

He laughed. “Brat.”

She giggled.

He kissed her forehead. “I meant what I said. When we finally are together, you will be the only woman on my mind. Just as you are right now.”

She threw her arms around his neck and kissed him.

And it wasn’t on the forehead.

Ambrose spread his hands on her back and pulled her in close as he returned her kiss.

Her heart raced.

Her knees felt suspiciously like water.

I want to stay like this.

I want…

He released her.

She grabbed his hands to keep herself from falling.

“Are you okay?”

Barbara looked up at him.

This man.

This lovely, handsome man.

I’m engaged to him.

What a crazy thought. How did I manage to get so lucky?

“Barbara, are you all right?”

“Mm-hmm. I think I’m just all too happy and way too tired.”

“If you can wait for me to finish my cleaning, I’ll walk you home.”

“Mm. That would be…Oh. But what about my car? I can’t just leave it here all night.”

“Oh.” His expression fell into disappointment.

“But you can ride with me.”

“Do you want me to drive?”

“No! No, I’ll manage. I’m not that tired.”

He kissed her again. “Brat.” He managed to make that one word sound like a dozen roses and a heart-shaped box of Godiva truffles.

8 thoughts on “Part 533 – Lovers And The Odd Man Out”

    1. Thank you so much!

      It’s a funny thing. When I started this bog, I was going off a small group of stories I had written about a vampire in love with a vampire hunter. As I wrote each story, I had a feeling that there was a lot there that could be explored and expanded on. I honestly thought I’d be lucky to stretch it to 100 chapters. 😆

      So, yes. There’s just a little bit of back reading you need to catch up on. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

