Part 499 – Isellta The Spy

Isellta followed Robin into town.

I’m not sure why I’m even doing this. He’s a vampire. He can stand on his own. He can take care if himself.

Robin disappeared into a group of noisy teenagers.

Isellta started after him, but then two of the teenagers broke out of the crowd. The girl shoved the guy and yelled at him. He shoved her and yelled right back. Then, just like that they were all over each other, kissing and touching.

Isellta stopped and watched them. He tried to make sense of what he was seeing. Are they still mad at each other? Is all of that mouthing another way to yell?

Robin’s yelled at me before. But he’s never done that to me. I wonder why. Maybe I just haven’t made him angry enough?

Wait. Did he just put his tongue in her mouth? Ohh, maybe it’s a silencing technique. Now, that makes sense.

His wings fluttered out in a shudder. “I hope Robin never does that to me. I don’t think I’d like to be silenced like that.”

The girl pulled away from him and slapped him hard across the face. She spun around and flounced away. The guy ran after her, yelling her name.

Oh, drat.

Robin.

Where did Robin go?

He ran though the teenaged crowd. None of them appreciated it. They made their lack of appreciation plain in words and plenty of gestures.

Isellta ignored them and stayed focused on finding Robin.

I hope he’s okay.

I hope he isn’t hurt.

I hope he’s safe.

I hope.

I hope.

I don’t know why, but I hope he isn’t staked.

Stupid vampire.

Stupid, nonsensical human.

So full of nonsense I can’t even believe it. I don’t know if I’ll ever comprehend it.

***

Robin scowled as he walked through the crowd. None of these scents appeal to me.

Plain.

Uninspired.

Drab.

Tasteless.

Nothing scents.

I should just kill them all for not smelling good.

Oh!

He stopped and nearly got himself trampled.

He stepped out onto the street and fifteen different cars tried to run into him.

Irritated, Robin jumped on top of a parked car and sat Indian-style on the roof. He sniffed the air.

His good pupil widened in delight as he found the scent he was looking for.

He jumped off the car and ran pell-mell after the scent.

***

There! There he is! Oh, why is he being so reckless? He isn’t even trying to watch where he’s going!

Stupid, brainless, mindless vampire!

He closed his eyes and imagined all of the distance between them scrunching up, closing in, becoming a tight compartment.

He opened his eyes.

Just as Robin ran right into him.

They fell into a tangle of arms and legs and clonked heads.

Robin sat up on top of him. “Isellta. What the heck?”

“I just…”

“Spying on me too, huh?”

“I just…I don’t want you to get hurt.”

Robin stood. “I don’t need your protection.”

“I know. I just…”

“I can take of myself.”

“I know.”

“I don’t need you to babysit me.”

“I’m not sure what babysitting is, but—”

“I ain’t helpless.”

“I never said you were.”

“You treat me like I am. I bet you had something to do with that hunter showin’ up in my room.”

“Of course, I did. You couldn’t do it on your own.”

“YOU NEVER LET ME TRY!” He seethed.

Isellta stood. “You were too sick and hurt to try. You were too weak to try. You were—”

“Shut up!”

“Robin—”

“I said, shut up. Go back home. Leave me alone.”

“You’ll get hurt.”

Robin snarled. “You think I’m pathetic. Is that it? Poor weak pathetic worthless Robin who is a massive failure as a vampire because he couldn’t escape from one lucky hunter.”

Isellta stared at him, too stunned to speak in any language.

“I can do this, Isellta.” His voice trembled and broke. “I can do this.”

“Robin—”

“Just leave me alone. And don’t you dare follow me.” He ran down the street, abandoning Isellta.

I made him angry.

Very angry.

He didn’t do that mouthing thing with me.

Why not?

I don’t want him to, but…why not?

 

2 thoughts on “Part 499 – Isellta The Spy”

Leave a Reply

