Part 493 – Barbara As Temptress

Ambrose managed to park the car in The Cardboard Box’s parking lot. It was a terrible parking job – so crooked it was almost straight. But he didn’t crash into any of the other cars or wreck the building.

He considered it a triumph.

He unbuckled his seatbelt.

She was still asleep. Her head was turned away from him.

He leaned into her space and whispered soft words into her ear.

She smiled.

“Good morning, beautiful.”

“Mmm.” She stretched her arms out. “Are we there?”

“Yes. Are you ready?”

“mm. Tired.”

He chuckled. Sounds like me when I’m tired.

His pupils widened. What if she were like me? My days would be her days. My nights, her nights.

He carefully unzipped her coat, exposing her neck.

Such a lovely neck.

Lovely blood hidden inside.

One bite.

Just one.

He leaned towards her.

She turned her head.

He saw it.

Two white marks.

And not from me.

She was scared.

If I bite her, would that scare her too? Or would she welcome it?

He touched the cyst-like marks. She would think of him. Of this.

She’d be terrified.

He kissed her neck.

She woke up.

He retreated to his seat.

She noticed the unzipped state of her coat.

“I didn’t do anything.”

“But you were thinking about it?”

I could lie. “Yeah. Big surprise: Ambrose Smith is a blood-sucking jerk.”

“Ambrose.”

“I don’t want to hurt you. I don’t.  I don’t want to change you. But it was so tempting. I wanted it. Just one bite.”

She fell silent.

“What are you thinking?”

She pushed up her coat’s sleeve and offered her wrist to him.

He shook his head.

“If all you want is one bite and you don’t want to change me—”

“It will hurt you.”

“I know. Just one bite.”

He shook his head harder.

She put her wrist right in front of his mouth.

He closed his eyes.

Her scent entered his eyes, his nose, his mouth, his ears.

His mouth watered.

His breathing grew faster.

He grabbed her hand to hold it in place.

He pressed his open mouth to her wrist.

“Just do it, Ambrose.”

He licked her wrist in one wet line.

His fangs grazed her skin.

She gasped.

Maybe it was fear.

Maybe it wasn’t.

He opened his eyes, looked up at her, and smiled. “I’m not hungry.” He kissed her wrist.

Then, he let her go.

 

6 thoughts on “Part 493 – Barbara As Temptress”

  1. Finally Ambrose learns to drive, lol….in all seriousness I love this scene. The temptation to drink from Barbara and her willingness to let him do it. But it is the final lines that make this chapter shine as Ambrose makes the choice. Very well done and shows that tender, I’m thinking of someone else besides myself, quality that we know Ambrose has deep down.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!

      I really enjoyed writing this chapter.

      All along Ambrose has been bewailing his innate selfishness and declaring that he would never hurt Barbara. This was his big moment to prove that he can overcome his selfishness and choose Barbara over what he really wants.

      It makes me happy to think of how much he has changed since the earlier chapters when he was still with Elsie.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

