Part 482 – Hey, Ambrose! I’m Gonna Pester You. Hope You Don’t Mind.

It wasn’t intentional on Barbara’s part.

It was all just purely subconscious stuff that made her drive down Raven’s street.

The police were there setting up yellow tape perimeters.

Barbara stopped in the middle of the street, got out of the car, and ran over to them.

Ambrose.

Please don’t let it be Ambrose.

One of the cops looked up at her. “Hey. Nothing to see here, little missy. Run along now.”

“What happened?”

“The town’s hunter got killed. Looks like it was a vampire attack, but we gotta follow protocol and investigate and such.”  He did a limp-wristed wave at her. “So, run along now.”

Barbara started to head back to her car, but she just couldn’t resist. She walked up to the front door of Raven’s house.

The door was unlocked.

“Hey! Missy! You can’t leave your car there. It’s blocking traffic. You don’t wanna get towed, do ya?”

Barbara returned to her car and moved it into Raven’s driveway.

“Good. And don’t you be stickin’ your nosy nose over here. We’re busy.”

“I wasn’t planning to.” she said softly.

Barbara opened the front door and went inside.

She headed towards Ambrose’s room.

What if?

What if?

What if?

She opened his door and walked over to his bed.

What if?

She uncovered his head.

He lay face into pillow, sleeping soundly.

His long, bare arms were curled up by his head.

His black hair draped over his hands.

His tank top showed off his shoulders and four inches of bare skin below his hairline.

She climbed up into his bed and sat there, just admiring him.

She smiled.

I just can’t help it.

She kissed the back of his neck.

He growled into his pillow.

So, she did it again.

He raised his head. “I swear, if that’s you, Raven, I’ll punch you inside out.” He sniffed the air. “But Raven doesn’t smell like semi-sweet chocolate and vanilla bean.”

Ambrose opened his eyes and focused on her. “Only Barbara Addleston smells that good.”

“Hey there, handsome.”

Something in her voice or her posture must have given her away. He sat up. “What’s wrong?”

“Nothin—Oh. Just everything.”

He rubbed his eyes. “Like what?”

“In one week and one day, Kevin’s going to be a complete werewolf. He won’t be human anymore.”

“How…how do you know? Did he tell you?”

“Yes. And I feel terrible about it. I feel terrible for him, of course, but I feel like I don’t feel bad enough. I’m going to lose him. I should be broken up about this. I should be crying and weeping and…and I’m not.” She bowed her head. “I’m a horrible person.”

“No, you’re not. Well. Actually, you are pretty terrible.”

She looked up at him.

“Waking a vampire twice in the same day time. That’s hardly nice, Barbara.”

“I know, but I needed to talk to you. Why do I feel this way? He asked me if I wanted him to stay in Pinkerlee after his transformation is complete. I didn’t have an answer. Not even a lie. I just shrugged. And I hurt him. I hurt him bad. He locked me out. He won’t answer my call.” She frowned. “I feel like I broke up with him all over again.”

“Barbara. You aren’t a horrible person. You’ve grown out of love with him. That’s why…”

His eyes started to close on him. He tried to focus on her, but his eyes kept closing. “That’s why…why…”

“Why don’t you lie down?”

He didn’t put that question up for debate. He laid down. “You’re a freaking angel. That’s what you are.”

She giggled. “Hmm. A freaking angel. Not just an ordinary angel?”

He managed to open his eyes. “Never ordinary. Beautiful, wonderful you.”

She blushed and ducked her head. Then, she remembered the body  out there. “Ambrose.”

“mmmm.”

“A hunter got killed. Outside of this house.”

He yawned. “Are you trying to ask me a question, Barbara?”

“The police are out there. Did you do it?”

“Barbara. There are three active vampires in this house. Why are you assuming it’s me?”

“I’m not. I’m asking.”

“No. I would certainly remember biting a hunter. Their blood is intoxicating. The blood high is amazing.”

“Then, it wasn’t you.”

“Seriously wasn’t.” He smiled a drowsy smile. “Any other questions?”

“Why don’t you wear tank tops more often? You look good in them.”

He burst out into a surprised laugh and sat up. “Barbara. Barbara. Tsk. Tsk. I didn’t realize you noticed such things.”

She blushed. “What? You do.”

He stroked her face. “You naughty little brat.”

She giggled again.

He kissed her. A gentle breath of a kiss before settling back down to his pillow.

“Elsie Vansing is back in Pinkerlee.” The words just spilled right on out of her mouth.

And there was no way to stuff them back in.

2 thoughts on “Part 482 – Hey, Ambrose! I’m Gonna Pester You. Hope You Don’t Mind.”

  1. Love that last line. It completes the chapter so much and sets up for whatever comes next. I enjoyed the sleepy conversation with Ambrose, and of course the previous chapters run in with Elsie. Nice reading for my morning 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!

      I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      It’s kind of funny how the previous chapter just worked itself out. I was going to have Elsie take the train to Pinkerlee, but I was like “Nah. I’ll let her drive.” As soon as I decided on that, I just knew that she was going to run into Barbara leaving Kevin’s place. I was originally planning to have Elsie literally run into Barbara’s car, but I liked the idea of them just staring each other down at the stop light.

      And I always enjoy writing conversations with sleepy Ambrose. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

