Part 478 – Do You Want Me To Stay?

The ride back to Kevin’s house was strained in silence.

Barbara kept glancing at him.

Kevin kept his silence.

Until at last she pulled into the driveway.

“Barbara.” He stared straight ahead at the house instead of at her. “If I…If I become werewolf and stay, you miss me?”

“Of course.”

“You think of me? Happy thoughts?”

“Yes. Why wouldn’t I?”

“Are sorry we broke up?”

Barbara thought about it. If I had stayed with him. What about Ambrose?

He side-glanced at her. “No. Vampire wins that round.”

“What is this all about?”

“Only questions. Wondered about. No answers.”

“Kev. What’s going on inside your head? Hmm?”

His fingers curled. “Many questions. Fears.” He looked at her. “I don’t want to be forgotten. Especially by you. Promise me you won’t forget me.”

“You’re creeping me out. What’s going on? What aren’t you telling me?”

“It’s important. Promise me.”

“Kev.”

“Promise.”

“Of course, but—”

“Good.” His expression lightened. His grin stretched happily across his face. “Life is good then.”

He kissed Barbara, catching her completely off guard. “Will love you always. Even after change is complete, I will.”

“What—”

“I will.” He got out of the car and walked to his front door. He looked back at her and gave her an enthusiastic wave before going inside.

She sat in her seat for a moment. The wheels inside her head spun fast and hard.

She got out of her car and ran to his front door.

He opened the door as she stepped onto the porch.

“You know.”

“Of course. Heard you coming.”

“It’s going to happen, isn’t it? It’s going to happen soon.”

His smile fell.

“How much time do you have left?”

He bowed his head. “One week and one day.”

“One week…From now?”

“And one day.”

“I’m so sorry. I had no idea.”

Hope returned to his face as he peeked up at her. “Marry me?”

She opened her mouth.

He smiled ruefully. “I know. Can’t. You’d rather marry vampire.”

“Isn’t there anything you can do to stop the change?”

“No. Werewolf curse for all werewolf. No exceptions. No loophole. No small print.”

“What are you going to do?”

He shrugged, but it looked more like a nervous twitch. “Get life in order. Get ready for change. New life. It will be new life for me. Maybe good. Maybe not.” He smiled. “New adventure.”

“Will you leave Pinkerlee?”

Another shrug. “Don’t know.” He tilted his head. “Should I?”

“I don’t know.”

“Do you want me to leave, Barbara?”

“It isn’t my place to say yes or no. I don’t know what you’re going to be like. How much you’ll remember. How much you’ll forget. I don’t know if you’ll even want to stay. You’ll have to make that choice on your own.”

“But…You want me stay?”

Yes? No? Maybe? I have no idea?

She shrugged.

“Oh. I see. No.”

“Kevin. I—”

“Vampire. Always vampire. Vampire always wins. Vampire never loses. Never.”

“Kev—”

He went back inside and locked the door.

***

Kevin sat against the front door.

One week and one day.

Eight days.

Eight.

Starting today?

He leaned his head back and closed his eyes.  Barbara.

Barbara.

Barbara.

I wish…

4 thoughts on “Part 478 – Do You Want Me To Stay?”

  1. Aww, man. Poor Kev. Well, I guess every guy can’t get the girl, but you know how to hit the reader in the feels. I do like how you played this out with Kev seeming to move toward his final change into permanent werewolf. Great element to his story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “..you know how to hit the reader in the feels.” What can I say? I’m kind of evil like that. hahaha! lol. And, fair warning: I have even more feel-hitting moments planned. Hmm. Is it wrong for me to look forward to writing them?

      When I came up with the idea of him becoming a permanent werewolf, I felt so bad for him. But it was just one of those ideas that felt so right and so intriguing. I knew that I had to go with it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

