Part 448 – Elsie’s Suggestion

So, the house must have belonged to him. Elsie nodded her head. That makes sense. “When did this whole uninviting happen?”

“All the way back when my little Olessa was only eight. I don’t know how many years have passed. Feels like it’s been a long time, but it also feels just like yesterday. Doesn’t matter when it happened. The pain is still there. I still dream of that awful day and I’m tired of dreaming about it. I want him dead. If he dies, the dreams will stop.”

“You’re hoping.”

“I know.”

Elsie sighed. “So, you’ve been brooding on this. Why don’t you send one of your minions to do the job?”

“Because I want to be sure it gets done right.”

“Sorry. As much as I don’t like him, I can’t do it. Now, if my master ordered me to do it, I’d have the same qualms, but I would probably do it for him.”

Incandesca stood.

“I will not do it for you, vampire.” She walked out into the arena.

“You haven’t asked me.”

Elsie looked back at her. “What?”

“Why do I call myself the Master of Havaton?”

“You’re a Caten. I assumed it was just a whole big ego thing.”

She scoffed.

comecomecomecomecomecomecomecomecomecome…  Even though she didn’t speak the words out loud, the ceiling vibrated an echo.

Doors materialized at the top of the stands. They opened and a swarm of vampires poured out of each door, down the stands, into the arena.

Elsie was surrounded.

“I am the Master of Havaton’s vampires. They all obey me. If I tell them go munch on the pretty hunter’s neck, they will go munch on the pretty hunter’s neck. If I tell them go kill the pretty hunter’s lover—”

Elsie tensed up. “You wouldn’t dare.”

She threw her head back and laughed. “As you noted, I am a Caten. By marriage,  yes, but still a Caten. Catens aren’t good people. Do you think I’d be attracted to Mark if I were a good person?”

“I’ve wondered about that.”

“So, about my request, will you kill Mark Caten for me?”

I can’t do it. It would be an unfair fight. I’d feel dirty if I did it. But I can’t let her sicc her vampires on Hildreth.

“All I have to do is snap my fingers and my vampires will hasten to obey me.”

“I have a better idea. Instead of sending me to do it, send someone who has an equally strong grudge against Mark Caten.”

“You have any recommendations?”

Elsie smiled.

The vampires nervously stepped away from her.

“I do. Ambrose Smith.”

7 thoughts on “Part 448 – Elsie’s Suggestion”

    1. Thank you so much! And what’s awesome about those twists is they’re ones I wasn’t even planning on. They just sort of came out of nowhere and took me by surprise too. 😀

      And yes, Elsie is totally awesome.

      (And yay! You caught up to me again 😀 )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

