Part 435 – Barbara Addleston In Active Mode

Barbara shook the fuzziness out of her head. “Oh. Where am I?”

She sat up and glanced around, but that didn’t really help. The room was almost entirely dark. A bare lightbulb dangled above her head, shedding light down on her but really nowhere else.

How did I even get in here? I don’t remember walking in. Oh! What about Ambrose? “Ambrose!”

No response.

“Ambrose!”

No response.

She sat back on her feet. “So, now what should I do?” Stay put? I don’t know where I am. I don’t know what’s hiding in the dark.

But I can’t just stay here.

That would be dumb.

She stood and considered her directional options. Let’s see. Darkness. Darkness. Darkness. Darkness. I don’t know what’s out there. I don’t know if there’s even a floor out there. Maybe I’m stuck on a pedestal and, no matter which way I go, I’m going to fall.

But I can’t just sit here and do nothing.

She took a deep breath and stepped forward.

Into the dark.

***

The screaming began again as Ambrose raced through the house.

Screams of anger. Pain. Desperation. Deep hurting hunger.

There were no words in the screaming. It was just a long anguished sound voiced by both men and women.

“Barbara! Where are you?”

The mental images began again.

He clenched his hand into a fist and punched a hole into the nearest wall.

***

Barbara fumbled through the darkness with her arms flailing about.

I can do this.

Her breathing sounded loud.

Way too loud.

Her shuffled footsteps sounded even louder.

“I can do this.” Her voice carried as if it were miked.

Her hands made contact with a brick wall.

She felt along the wall, searching for an opening.

Any opening.

A fist burst through the wall, just missing her face.

She staggered back.

The fist escaped and its owner ran off.

“Oh! That was startling.”

Alarm bells dinged and donged inside her head. “Wait. No way! That couldn’t have been.” She stepped up to the hole. “Ambrose? Ambrose, are you out there? Ambrose!”

***

The scent of semi-sweet chocolate and vanilla bean stopped Ambrose in his tracks. “Barbara?”

“Ambrose? Ambrose, are you out there?”

He followed the scent back to the hole he created. “Barbara?”

***

“Ambrose! Oh, thank goodness. I don’t know how I got in here. I don’t know.”

“It’s all right. We can discuss all of that later. I need to get you out of there.”

“I’m guessing there’s some sort of secret passageway. Or who knows? A real door. I don’t know.”

“I don’t care. I’m getting you out of there now.” He paused.Β “You might want to get out of the way.”

Barbara didn’t question him.

I bet I know what he’s going to do.

She smiled as he didn’t disappoint her expectations.

He worked on tearing the wall down with his bare hands and claws.

“I really do love you, Ambrose.”

“Then, why do you get yourself into these kind of situations? You trying to see if vampires can have heart attacks?”

A door scraped open somewhere to her right.

She glanced that way.

The door snapped shut.

The sound of heavy breathing.

Footsteps.

Footsteps stumbling and shambling towards her.

She stiffened.

It isn’t Ambrose.

“Who’s there?”

A steady, rumbled growl was the only response she received.

“Ambrose. Could you please hurry?”

“I’m moving as fast as I can.”

“Umm, I realize that, but I’m not alone in here.”

He hurried.

 

7 thoughts on “Part 435 – Barbara Addleston In Active Mode”

Leave a Reply

