Part 402 – A Vampire’s Dire Words

Kleine ran into an alley. Only to meet up with a dead end. “Aghh!”

Stakes from Hildreth’s Bossman 550 pelted Kleine’s back.

He glanced around the dead end, hoping to find a door or a sewer grate or something.

He found nothing.

Footsteps.

Fast.

Loud.

And far too many stakes.

Kleine snarled at the bricks and mortar before him. Trapped!

The footsteps stopped.

“There’s no escaping this time, vampire.” said Hildreth. “You might as well turn around and face your fate like the man you used to be.”

“That just goes to show how little you know, hunter.” A trash can lid lay on the ground in front of him. “I may be changed.” He carefully went down. “But I am still a man.” His fingers curled around the handle.

Hildreth marched up to him and pressed his Bossman 550 against Kleine’s back. “Drop it.”

“You don’t understand, hunter. You don’t know what it’s like. You don’t know what I’ve lived through. You don’t know what I have to endure every night.”

“You’re right. I don’t know.”

“I could show you.”

Hildreth laughed. “And you could also show me what an arsenic/strychnine/hemlock cocktail tastes like.” He lowered his weapon. “Not interested, vampire.”

Kleine rose quickly, spun around, and tried to smash Hildreth with the lid.

But Hildreth was ready for him. He bashed his fists against the bottom of the lid, boosting it out of Kleine’s grip. He grabbed the vampire and pushed him up against the wall. A stake was already in his hand.

Kleine snarled at him. “One day, you will know. And you’ll remember this moment. You’ll remember my words, hunter.”

“Not likely.” He staked him.

***

The light darkened in Kleine’s eyes.

Hildreth released him.

Elsie ran into the alley. “Hildreth! You okay?”

He smiled at her. “Are you worried about me, Elsie Vansing?”

“Of course not. I’m just asking.”

“Elsie Vansing, you’re worried about me.”

She came close to him. “You are such an idiot.”

“Maybe.”

She stroked his face and looked love at him. “There’s no maybe about it.”

“You want to kiss me, don’t you?”

“I want to do a lot more than that, but not in an alley.”

“True. Someone would be bound to interrupt us.”

“Yes, that. And I’d rather not do it in an alley. Ever.”

Hildreth cupped his hand around the back of her neck. “Then, I’ll settle for that kiss.”

“That seems fair.”

And so she kissed him.

 

2 thoughts on “Part 402 – A Vampire’s Dire Words”

Leave a Reply

