Part 378 – Good Night, All You Happy People

I’ll have to apologize to him later. Or find somewhere else to sleep.

Ambrose knocked on the door.

***

“Gavin! Put that gun down!”

“No, Christabell. I have had enough of your—”

“Of my what?”

“Of your love.”

Barbara opened her eyes. “What the heck are they talking about?”

Someone knocked on the door.

Christabell’s evil twin sister and Gavin’s skinny, gay brother burst into the room. “You think you can have it all, Chrisabell. Well! You can’t. I won’t let you. Hahahahahah—”

Barbara shut off the tv and listened.

Someone knocked on the door again.

***

Maybe she’s sleeping. It is late.

Ambrose knocked on the door fifty more times before giving up.

I should let her get her sleep.  He walked down the porch steps.

The door behind him opened.

He stopped and glanced back.

“Ambrose?”

She ran to him and into his embrace. “You’re back.” Her hands traveled all over his head down to his face.

He closed his eyes and relished every touch.

“You’ve come back to me.”  From his face to his shoulders. “Are you okay?”

He opened his eyes. “I am now.” He smiled. “I swear I will never, ever drink dragon’s blood again.”

“Are you all right?”

He kissed the small space between her eyebrows. “Yes.” He kissed the tip of her nose. “Oh, yes.” He kissed her lips.

She wrapped her arms around his neck and kissed him in return.

“Barbara.” he whispered. “I’m home.”

***

Hildreth crawled into bed. His stomach hurt.

I’m probably going to throw up. It’s going to be a chunky, hurled mess.

He smiled. But it was so worth it. Every bite, every sip so worth it.

He closed his eyes and thought about Elsie.

***

Elsie took her coat off and hung it in the foyer.

She smiled. In one month, I’ll be Elsie Mayhew and I will be coming home to him every night.

Till death do us part.

2 thoughts on “Part 378 – Good Night, All You Happy People”

Leave a Reply

