Part 305 – Zombies And Mark Caten

One.

Two.

Threefourfive.

Twist.

Duck.

Kick.

Punch.

Stab.

“Watch out, Hildreth! There’s another one behind you.”

“I know! There’s one in the ceiling. There! There!”

“Hildreth! Watch out!”

“Elsie!” He sighed. “Looks like I’m on my own.”

One.

Two.

Threefourfive.

Punch.

PUNCH MISSED!

Punch.

PUNCH MISSED!

Punch.

PUNCH MISSED!

“Hit X, O, X.” said Elsie.

COMBO FAILED!

SORRY TIME HAS RUN OUT. THAT’S TOO BAD.

The zombie shambled over to the overly buff motorcycle cop and proceeded to nom on his pixilated head.

The zombie hoard proceeded to take over South America and it’s all your fault for letting time run out. You so stink at this game. Maybe you should play a quiet game of Solitaire.

Just saying.

TRY AGAIN???  😉

“Of course, we’re going to try again.” said Elsie. “I’m not going to just sit here and let a computer brain insult me. Only this time, I’m playing Shiny Kirk the Cop.”

Hildreth winced. “That means I have to play the chunky ballerina.”

“I don’t know what your problem is. Darleen is a good character. She has well-balanced stats, excellent agility, and a great skill set.”

“Yeah, but she died before my cop did.”

“That was because I was worried about you getting killed again.” Elsie turned her attention back to the game over screen and pressed X for Yes.

Hildreth looked at her profile in silent adoration. There are so many things I could say, so many words I want to say, but they’re all locked up deep inside of me. I don’t know how to access them. I don’t even know what they are. They’re just…there. And it isn’t I love you. It’s something more, so much more than that.

“Are you going to opt in or not?”

“Of course.” He pressed the X on his PlayStation controller.

One of these days, I’ll find a way to tell her all of these unknown, unspoken words.

He smiled.

And she’ll understand.

***

The zombie hoard proceeded to take over South America and it’s all your fault for letting time run out. You so stink at this game. Maybe you should play a quiet game of Solitaire.

Just saying.

TRY AGAIN???  😉

The zombie hoard proceeded to take over South America and it’s all your fault for letting time run out. You so stink at this game. Maybe you should play a quiet game of Solitaire.

Just saying.

TRY AGAIN???  😉

The zombie hoard proceeded to take over South America and it’s all your fault for letting time run out. You so stink at this game. Maybe you should play a quiet game of Solitaire.

Just saying.

TRY AGAIN???  😉

The zombie hoard proceeded to take over South America and it’s all your fault for letting time run out. You so stink at this game. Maybe you should play a quiet game of Solitaire.

Just saying.

TRY AGAIN???  😉

Hildreth sighed. “Fourth time in a row.” He set the game controller on the cocktail table and yawned.

And it wasn’t a polite “dainty belle bored at the ball” type of yawn. It was a “I’m tired and I don’t care who sees my fillings” type of yawn.

“Fourth time in a row and I got killed by a zombie turtle warlord on the first level. I think it’s time for me to call it quits and go home.”

Elsie didn’t reply.

He looked over at her. She was no longer sitting next to him on the couch. She lay on her side – her knees bunched up, her hands curled up by her face.

Such a lean, lovely creature. He smiled. And the fiercest spirit I’ve ever known. He lay his hand on her right calf.

She startled in her sleep and flat foot kicked him in the ribs, knocking him all the way over to the armrest.

“Case in point.” He winced and rubbed his side. Darn! That’s gonna leave a good bruise. Good thing she’s barefoot, though.

Her leg retracted to its previous position.

Elsie’s cell phone rang.

He picked it up and took it into the kitchen. “Hello?”

“You aren’t Elsie. Give me Elsie. Now.”

Hildreth rubbed his side. “She’s sleeping right—”

“I don’t care what she’s doing. Give her to me.”

“Look I don’t know who you think you are, but I am not going to disturb her while she’s—”

“Why are you still talking? I don’t want to talk to you.”

“Can I give her a mess—”

“No. You can’t give her a message, you third grade numbskull. If I wanted you to give her a message, I would tell you. Witless, mindless, gormless—”

“Who are you?”

“Mark Caten. I have a job for her. A personal job.”

“Tell me.”

“Why should I? You aren’t her.”

“No. But I am a hunter.”

“From the sounds of your voice, I’d say you’re a low-ranker.”

Hildreth’s mouth dropped open. “From the sound of my voice? What?”

“You’re wasting my time. Give her to me.”

“At least tell me what this job—”

“I want to talk to her. Why is that so hard for you to understand? Did your inbred parents drop you when you were a baby?”

Hildreth scowled.

“I need to talk to her.”

“No.”

“What?”

“I said, no. Talk to me. I’ll give her your message.”

“Who the blazes do you think you are? No one tells me no. Not ever. I am Mark Freakin’ Caten.”

“And I am Hildreth Mayhew.”

“Ohh. Yes. You. I knew there was a reason why I didn’t like your voice. You’re the mangy, lice-covered, maggot-drooling, insect-kissing loser who let Ambrose Smith escape from my Davisburg location.”

“So I am. And my parents were not inbred. And I will not give you to Elsie. If you need a job done, tell me and maybe, if you’re lucky, I relay it to Elsie.”

“You have no right to tell me—”

“I’m the one with Elsie’s phone. You wanna talk to her, you have to deal with me.”

“Ingrate!”

Hildreth shrugged. “Maybe. So, Mr. Caten. Talk. What do you want Elsie for?”

There was a long moment of silence.

“My daughter is dead.” Hurt and pain tightened his voice.

“I’m sorry.”

He exhaled a shaky breath. “She was my little girl. Brilliant. Wonderful. A lot like me in many ways.”

Another bit of silence played out.

“And Ambrose Smith killed her. I want him dead. Tell Elsie to make him dead. I don’t care how she does it. I want him dead. I would like him to suffer first, but mainly I want him dead. Do you understand what dead means, Mr. Mayhew?”

“Yes, sir.”

“Good. Make him dead.” He ended his call.

 

6 thoughts on “Part 305 – Zombies And Mark Caten”

  1. I knew it wouldn’t be long before Caten reared his head, lol. I really enjoyed the first half of this part also. It reminded me of what it must look like to watch my wife and I play video games. I’m horrible, and she’s brilliant at it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!

      I thought it would be kind of fun to show Elsie and Hildreth just relaxing and having fun together (even if it involves killing zombies).

      And yes. Mark Caten just had to pop that quiet, happy moment balloon.

      Have I mentioned that I enjoy writing his character? He’s just so awful. I’m not even sure if he realizes how awful he is. 😆

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

