Part 293 – A Father’s Loss

Mark Caten pulled up his coat’s collar. Blasted cold! Why doesn’t it return to the Arctic where it belongs?

He entered the building and it was quiet. That didn’t surprise him too much. Olessa’s probably out in the yard with Ambrosia. I wonder what new and wondrous discoveries she’s made this time.

He poked his head into the control room.

She wasn’t there.

He checked the break room, just in case.

She wasn’t there either.

He considered checking the bathroom, but even he had his limits.

Mark Caten walked over to the courtyard’s sliding door. He opened it and stepped outside.

It was silent as if the entire world were holding its breath.

He didn’t see her.

Not at first.

He shook his head. “It can’t. It…”

He turned to leave. “I don’t want to know. I don’t want to see it. I don’t want to look at it. I don’t want to see her like…” He looked straight ahead at the glass door and he saw the reflection.

Red.

Tattered red.

And he turned into stone.

I need to see this. I need to know what did this to her.

He approached his daughter’s smashed remains.

Mark Caten toppled down to his knees. He sat back with his hands at his sides.

Her body was smashed flat. Blood and assorted gore colored the ground. Only her face remained intact. The fear and shock death had left on it made him sick.

“Who can I blame? Who can I kill for this? Who did this?”

Then he noticed Ambrose’s absence. “He did this. I don’t know how. But HE. DID. THIS.”

He looked at her face and his hardness shattered.

“My little girl. I was so proud of you, of who you are, of the person you grew up to be, of all of your experiments, of…of…” He broke down and cried.

2 thoughts on “Part 293 – A Father’s Loss”

  1. Call me bad, but I enjoyed her death 😉 I know there will be repercussions of some sort, but I was so ready to see her get hers, as cruel as she was. Of course, the reveal of who she was just added to her evil. Great vile character with an excellent death scene. As always, you are are a great writer and storyteller. I have to stop here for a moment, but I will return 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!

      Oh, yes. There will definitely be repercussions. Really big repercussions. Mark Caten isn’t going to take losing his daughter all that easily.

      For the record, when Olessa made her first appearance, I had no idea that Mark Caten even had a child. It was just one of those things that felt right when I finally revealed her name. I was like, “Yes. Of course, she’s Mark Caten’s daughter. I can see the family resemblance.” 😀 Which makes me wonder what sort of woman would go after Mark and why?? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

