Part 274 – Right Key, Wrong Room

Hildreth smiled at Elsie.

She sat on her bed in her tank top and sleep shorts with her legs folded Indian-style. Her black-hair frizzed all around her head.

She scrawled fierce words on the hotel’s note paper.

Elsie.

My Elsie.

Hildreth just couldn’t take it any more. He walked over to her bed and sat behind her. He laid his hands on her shoulders. “Hey, beautiful. You writing a revenge journal?”

“I’m just making a list of what we need to do for the wedding.” She leaned her head back against him. “There are so many things.”

He kissed her forehead. “How can I help you?”

“Well.” She looked at her list. “Biggest thing will be writing up all of the invitations.”

“I can help with that.”

“Dress fittings.”

He laughed. “Can’t do anything there.”

“Flower arrangements.” She thought about it. “My mom can help with that. She has a weird connection with all of the florists in town. She says its because they are all positive creatures. Whatever that means.”

“So, your mom has that under control. What’s next?”

“Bridesmaid dresses. And deciding who I want as bridesmaids.”

“And I need a best man.” He smiled as he thought about Master Shinowa. “I think I know who that will be. After all, if it weren’t for him, I don’t know if I would have proposed to you.”

She frowned. “Why?”

“Because you’re just so…” He sighed. “You’re so far out of my league.”

“Nonsense.”

“It’s true. You’re so…” His words failed him. He took his hands off her shoulders. “And I’m not. I’m just me.”

“Hildreth.” She turned to face him. “Don’t say things like that. If I wanted a man similar to myself, I would stayed with Ambrose. But that is not what I want in my life. Not anymore. Ambrose is gone and I’m glad.” She wrapped her arms around his neck and buried her fingers in his hair.

His heart raced and he found it spectacularly difficult to breathe just right.

“I want you, Hildreth.”

He smiled. “Say it again.”

She smiled. “I want you, Hildreth Mayhew.” Her fingers escaped his hair and traveled down to his neck, to his shoulders. “I love you.” She pushed him down onto the bed and kissed him repeatedly.

Their hotel room door swung open.

Elsie sat up quick. “What?”

A woman with hair too big and a dress too short sashayed into the room followed by a younger man with greased down hair. “Well.” said the man. “Here we are. All alone.”

Hildreth sat up. “What the heckola?”

The woman fluttered her overloaded fake eyelashes at him. “So, what do you want to talk about?’

He moved her hair away from her neck. “To be honest, I don’t want to talk.” He bared his fangs.

Elsie jumped out of bed, grabbed the hotel’s alarm clock, and threw it at the man.

It bounced off his head, spun in the air a couple of times,  and landed in a complete crash pile.

He raised his head and noticed them for the first time. “Uhh. This is my room.”

She grabbed the stake off the nightstand and charged at him.

Poofy-Haired Short-Dress gasped. “What is the meaning of this?”

The vampire decided not to stay around to explain. He bolted out the door.

Poofy-Haired click-clacked after him in her high heels. “Heeeey! Wait for me!”

Elsie stopped in the doorway.

Hildreth walked up behind her. “Well. That was an interesting interruption. What do you want to do?”

“What else?” She smiled at him. “Let’s go hunting.”

He kissed her. “You might want to change into something a little less…” His mind shut down on him again.

“Of course.”

3 thoughts on “Part 274 – Right Key, Wrong Room”

    1. Thank you!

      I really like him too. I think he’s a good counterbalance to Elsie’s assertiveness and yeah. I just like him. Even though I’ve made him endure a lot of Elsie drama.

      And, for the record, I enjoy interrupting them every time they try to make love. 😆

      Like

Leave a Reply

