Part 268 – Barbara With Two Dragons

A dragon made entirely out of gold and silver flames rushed into the room and charged towards the vampire.

He tried to hold on for as long as he could, but the dragon bit fire and pain into him. It was too much for him to handle. He released her and escaped.

He exited the building and stopped short.

Two full-sized dragons stood before him.

The vampire raised his hands in the classic “don’t shoot me” pose. “Listen. We’re all extraordinaries here. We all are trying our best to survive.”

The midnight blue one stuck his large head in front of the vampire’s face. “I smell her blood on you.”

“We only took a little. We—”

“YOU SHOULDN’T HAVE TAKEN ANY!”

The vampire exploded.

***

Sammy transformed back into his human form. He bowed his head. “I’m sorry, Mother. I should have held back. I should have—”

“Sammy. We will have this conversation when it is safe. This place is not safe. Rescue your friend and we will leave.”

“I didn’t mean to kill him. Not like that.”

She lowered her head and pressed her nostrils against his chest. She breathed her warmth into him as a comforting gesture.

Sammy laid his head against her broad face. “Thank you.” he whispered.

She pulled her head back and transformed into her human form. Her long straight hair appeared to be a color somewhere between bleached white and washed out pink. “Go. Save her. Stake her if you must.”

His expression went blank. “If I must.”

***

Sammy found the light switch and turned the lights on.

She lay sprawled out on the floor.

His body heat turned cold. “Barbara?”

She didn’t respond.

He knelt beside her. “Please don’t be dead. Don’t be changed. Just be my own treasure, my own Ms. Addleston.”

His mother entered the room and knelt next to him. “How long has she been unconscious?”

He struggled to keep his emotions in check. “I don’t know.”

“It’s possible that he had her long enough.”

He bowed his head.

A random wall collapsed.

Barbara startled and opened her eyes. “Sammy.” She leapt up and hugged him. “He bit me. He bit me. He. He.” She burst into tears. “What’s going to happen to me? It hurt so much. It hurt. I don’t want to be like that. I don’t. I. I.”

He hugged her.

The light fixtures exploded. One by one.

“It hurt. So much more than when Ambrose bit my wrist. I don’t want to become a vampire. I don’t. I don’t. Sammy, don’t let me change.”

“Sammy. Let her go. I need to talk to her.”

He released her.

“What is your name, girl?”

“Barbara. Barbara Addleston.”

“Barbara Addleston. How do you feel? Do you sense anything has changed? Your sense of smell perhaps?”

She shook her head.

“Do you feel unreasonably hungry?”

She shook her head.

“Do I have a scent you can detect?”

“I don’t know. I can’t. I can’t.” She covered her face with her hands and cried.

“Mother. We need to get her out of here.”

“Yes.” Her expression darkened. “Take her to your car. I’ll meet you there.”

“What are you going to do?”

“Payback. Go.”

 

2 thoughts on “Part 268 – Barbara With Two Dragons”

Leave a Reply

