Part 262 -Unexpected Jitters

Sammy pulled into the vastly empty parking lot. The park’s closed gates loomed before him.

His natural heat turned cold. He shivered.

“Oh!” Barbara sat up. “Are we here already?”

He wanted to curl into a tight ball and hide. “I don’t know if I can do this.”

“What’s wrong?”

“This place. It’s wrong. Everything about it is wrong.” His voice came out cold and flat.

“Are you okay?”

He shivered. “I’m too cold. I don’t know if I can help you.”

“Do you want to stay out here? I can look for him myself.”

“It’s too dangerous. That place is too dangerous. I can’t let you go alone. It wouldn’t  be right.” He shivered and it was almost like a convulsion.

Her expression turned sympathetic. “What happened to you here? What did they do to you?”

He hesitated. “I’m an extraordinary, Ms. Addleston. Every extraordinary has a weakness. No matter how powerful they are, they all bear some sort of weakness. Caten discovered mine. He exploited it for their amusement and his own profit.”

“What do you want to do?”

“I didn’t think…I didn’t expect this place to have such a strong effect on me, but we’re here. We can’t just come here and leave without trying.” He looked at her. “I will try for your sake, Ms. Addleston.”

“Are you sure?”

“He means a lot to you and that is important. Yes, Ms. Addleston, I’m sure. Let’s do this.”

They got out of the car.

Sammy stood tall. “If I can’t make this place explode, I’ll tear it down with my bare hands. Come.”

2 thoughts on “Part 262 -Unexpected Jitters”

Leave a Reply

