Part 245 – Barbara Stands Her Ground

“That so?” Thug #1 smiled. It was like watching toxic waste spread across a lake. “Okay. Fine. Take your lover boy.”

“Bro!”

“Shut up. I know what I’m doin’. Give both of us twelve thousand bucks and I’ll let you and lover boy dance off to the moon.”

“Twelve thousand!”

“Yeah. Twelve thousand. Each. That’s what Caten’s offerin’ us for retrieving him. In case you got problems countin’, that’s twenty-four thousand dollars you gotta shell out. You got that kind of cash floatin’ around, sweetie?”

“Hardly.”

“Then, no deal. Unless.” His smile grew uglier. “You seem like a fit little thing. I’m sure there’s somethin’ you can give me in exchange for lover boy here.”

“Oh, I get ya, bro. If you don’t want to give it to him, you can sure give it to me. I’ll take it.”

Her face turned red. “If you’re asking for what I think you are, forget it. My virginity is not a bargaining chip. It is mine and mine alone. I will certainly not hand it over to someone as horrible and as uncouth as you. You’d probably hurt me on purpose.”

He stepped closer to her. “So? What if I just go and take it?”

She held her ground. “Ambrose will kill you. And I will do nothing to stop him.”

“We’ll mask him and cuff him first.”

“He’ll know. He’ll kill you. He’ll make your deaths particularly painful.”

“You’re bluffin’.”

“No.” She smiled and it was far from a kindly smile. “I know Ambrose much better than you do. Trust me. You don’t want to mess with him or me.”

Thug #1 considered her words.

Thug #2 spoke up, “Then, you got nothin’ to give us in return? That stinks. Whaddya wanna do, bro?”

“The way I see it, we’ve got two payment choices: Nothin’ from her and twelve thousand each from Caten. What do ya think I wanna do?”

“Got ya, bro!”

Ambrose snapped out of his mentally stunned state as Thug #2 pulled his hands behind his back.

He looked at her and smiled.

Some of her hair had managed to untuck itself from her hairstyle. It curved forward, touching her throat.

I want to wrap it around my finger and kiss it. I want to hold her and kiss her a million times. I want…

His smile fell.

I don’t want to go back. But what can I do?

What can I do?

Nothing.

Thug #2 rehitched the handcuffs. “Okay, bro! Looks like we’re all good over here.”

Barbara fixed a cold glare at Thug #1. “You haven’t won.”

“Sorry, sweetie, but I don’t see him standin’ on your side of the line.”

“I will talk to Sammy. Sammy will go to wherever you take him and blow it apart with his anger.”

“You’re bluffin’.”

“No. I’m not.”

“You don’t even know where it’s at.”

“I’ll find out.”

Thug #1 smirked. “Good luck with that. Come on, bro. Let’s get the heck outta here.”

Leave a Reply

