Part 238 – The Cruel Hunter Brings Bad News

Hildreth’s scent faded and then it was gone.

Ambrose spread his hands on the floor. “I’m not..not done…yet.” He tried to push himself up.

His head never left the ground.

Sleep overcame him.

***

A scent.

Burnt olive oil.

A sound.

What is it?

A voice.

Whose is it?

A woman.

What is she saying?

Cold metal.

Pinching.

Hurts.

Wrists.

Handcuffs.

No.

NO!

Ambrose opened his eyes.

The cruel hunter stood before him in her superhero costume. Only this time, she was wearing a black eye mask with gold sequined trimming. For some reason.

It took him a few moments to realize that her image was divided into small black lined squares.

The muzzle! NO!

Once again his mouth was clamped shut. The metal piece covering his mouth made him feel like he was suffocating. He could only breathe through his nose. His breaths came out too loud and too fast and too shallow.

He shook his head and rubbed the muzzle against his shoulders, desperate to dislodge it.

“You’re wasting your energy. And trust me, vamp. You’re gonna need every last drop.” She crouched beside him. “I talked to the officers here about you.”

He glared at her.

“We all agreed that it would be a waste of our judicial system to put you on trial. You obviously did it. You’ve killed officers. You’ve toyed with officers’ minds and tried to kill a hunter.”

Blah. Blah. Blah. When is she going to tell me something I don’t know?

“So, they told me that they have absolutely no objection with me taking you away.”

He widened his eyes in fear.

“They’ll have to re-title the exhibit. Instead of being The Vampire, you’ll be The Masked Vampire.”

He moaned soft, broken notes.

“And when the public gets bored with you, I’ll have a new vampire to experiment on. So, I win twice. I get paid for your capture and then I get to see what makes you tick.” She stood. “My minions will be coming for you shortly.”

She walked to the door and left.

Barbara. Barbara. I need to see her. I need to explain. I can’t leave her like this.

Tears trailed down his skin and onto the unyielding metal.

She won’t understand.

I’ll lose her.

Barbara.

Barbara.

Come to me before it’s too late.

 

Leave a Reply

