Part 217 – A Cry For Help

It wasn’t until after the hunter left that Ambrose gave into the pain and cried. He tried to curl into a fetal position, but the net kept him from moving.

It hurts.

It hurts.

IT HURTS!

I DON’T WANT TO GO BACK!

Elsie. Help me. Get me out of this thing. Elsie!

He projected that thought over and over, not knowing if Elsie would hear it. Not knowing if she would even care.

He projected all through the night.

***

Dawn painted soft orange and pink rose rouge across the sky.

Elsie looked atΒ Hildreth in the day’s early light.Β I should apologize to him later for sleeping in his lap all night. It couldn’t have been very comfortable. She ran her finger across his eyebrows. I wonder if he has any sensation left in his legs.

He sighed softly in his sleep.

Ambrose won’t come between us ever again. I’m done with him. I’m through. You’re the one I want. You’re the one I love. I know this now more than I ever did. “I love you.”

Elsie.

She startled.

ElsieElsieElsieElsieElsieElsie

She clambored out of the chair and glanced around. “Where are you? Show yourself.”

ElsieElsieElsieElsieElsieElsieElsieElsieElsie

She shook her head. “I’m not coming to you. I will not play and dance for you. I’m through with you, Ambrose Smith. I’m through!”

ElsieElsieElsieElsieElsieElsie

“Just go away. Leave me alone.”

Help.

Help.

Help.

“I’m not interested in helping you. Do you hear me? I don’t care. You don’t matter to me anymore.”

Scared. Elsie. Elsie. I’m scared. Don’t want to go back. Come to me. Help me. I’m scared. I don’t want to go back. I can’t go back there. I can’t. I can’t. It hurtshurtshurtshurtshurtshurts. Elsie. Find me. Help. Help. If you can hear me. Elsie. Elsie. ElsieElsieElsieElsieElsieElsie

Something twisted in Elsie’s gut. He’s scared? Is that even possible? What could scare a vampire like him?

No.

It’s a trap. It’s nothing but a game that I will not play.

She settled back down in Hildreth’s lap.

“nghnf?” He opened his eyes a crack. “wazza wrong?”

“Nothing.” She laid her head against his chest and sighed. “Absolutely nothing.”

 

10 thoughts on “Part 217 – A Cry For Help”

        1. I think it’s one of those cases where they’re both right and wrong for each other and she knows it. So, she’s trying her best to go with the less complicated option – Hildreth, which just makes me feel bad for Hildreth. 😦

          By the way, I nominated you for The Entertainer Blogger Award. I’m not sure if you’re into doing award things or not. If you don’t want to do it, you don’t have to.

          Here’s the link if you’re interested:

          https://ambroseandelsie.wordpress.com/2016/11/09/the-entertainer-blogger-award/

          Like

  1. Wow. Another awesome chapter. On the one hand I want her to run to him, at least to help, but on the other it makes for a more interesting, tense read if she doesn’t. You know how to tug at the reader in these kinds of things πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

