Part 207 – Ambrose’s Moment Of Truth

Ambrose knelt there outside her door, waiting for it to open.

It didn’t open.

Is this the end, then? Have I lost her?

Is she not even going to come out here and tell me?

Barbara, come out. Please. I’m here.

He exhaled a broken breath. “I’m here.”

I should tear the door down.

I should tear it to shreds.

I should go in there and grab her and take her away.

But.

That will only make matters worse.

What am I supposed to do?

***

He opened her bedroom door.

She was all curled up in her bed, crying into her pillow.

I should go back there and punch him. “Barbara?”

She sniffled and blew her nose.

“He’s here.”

She sat up in her bed. “Ambrose is here? Now?”

‘Yes.” He tightened his grip on the doorknob. “What do you want to do?”

She lowered her gaze.

***

She isn’t coming.

She won’t come.

Why?

Doesn’t she know I want to apologize?

Fine.

Be that way.

Ambrose stood. “I’ll just go back to work.”

He turned and stepped off the porch.

The door opened.

“Ambrose?”

He stopped and looked back.

“Barbara.”

He ran back to her and wrapped her in his arms. His throat was too choked up for words. So, he just held on to her and cried.

She hesitated a full minute before hugging him. “Why?”

“I’m sorry. I’m so sorry.”

“Why her? Who was she?”

So, here it is. My moment of truth. If I tell her Elsie, she’ll freak out. She’ll leave me. If I lie…And say what exactly? I kissed her like she was mine. What convincing lie could I possibly come up for that? “Elsie.”

He released her. “That was Elsie.”

 

2 thoughts on “Part 207 – Ambrose’s Moment Of Truth”

Leave a comment