Part 204 – Father and Daughter Talk

As they pulled into the driveway, Barbara reached over and hugged her dad.

“It’s okay. It’s okay.” He patted her back. “It’s okay.”

“What do I do? If he calls me…if he comes here, what do I say? What do I do? Am I supposed to just forgive him? We’re not married. We’re not engaged. But…It hurts so much. I don’t understand why and it hurts.”

“I’ll tell him you aren’t available at this time.”

She returned to her seat. “He won’t understand. Or, worse, he’ll misunderstand.”

“Kevin never hurt you like this.”

She shook her head. “Because he was never there enough. I never felt for him the way I feel for Ambrose. That’s why I had no problem breaking up with him. But–” She burst into a whole new flood of tears. “–I don’t want to break up with him!”

He looked at his daughter and his heart hurt for her.  If only this were just a scratch, I could put a bandage on it. If only this were a stomachache, I could take her to the doctor. What can I do? How can I make this right for her? How can I ease her pain and make her smile?  “What do you want me to do, Barbara?”

“Mm. Could you give me a tissue? I need to blow my nose so bad.”

He smiled. “I can do that.”

“And…can you stay the night?”

“Here?”

“Please?”

It isn’t much. If her mother were here, she’d know exactly what to say and do. It’s such a small thing. But it’s something. “I can definitely do that.”

Leave a Reply

