Part 194 – Poor Sleepy Ambrose

Ambrose sighed as he sat across from Sammy. “Here I am.”

“It’s good to see you again, Mr. Smith.”

He rubbed his forehead. “Don’t be so formal. It’s stupid and irritating. Just call me Ambrose.”

“Of course. Ambrose. Do you know why you’re here?”

“Barbara said you had a job for me.”

“And she is right. You will start at the very bottom of the ladder. If I like how you do your job, I will advance you up to the point where you can choose what you want to do.”

Ambrose stifled a yawn. “Awesome. What do you want me to do?”

“Keep this place clean.”

He had many pleasant thoughts of lying his head on Sammy’s desk and falling asleep.

“I expect you to do the sweeping, dusting, vacuuming.” He straightened the pens on his desk. “You will begin as soon as you leave this office.”

Ambrose narrowed his eyes. “Seriously? What’s wrong with you? Can’t you see I’m tired?”

“Too tired to work?”

“Give me a couple of hours and yeah. Too tired to work.”

“Then, you will work until you reach that point.” He smiled a bland, benign smile. “Do you have any objections?”

Heck yeah! But do I want him to magically shove me around again? “Nope.”

“Then you may go and begin your job. Ms. Addleston will direct you to the cleaning supply closet.”

“Thanks.”

***

Hmm. I didn’t get a chance to tell him about my conversation with Dad.

The phone rang.

“Thank you for calling Sammy Borscht’s office. We specialize in helping extraordinaries find jobs that match their talents. How may I direct your call?”

I hope he doesn’t get mad.

“Thank you for calling Sammy Borscht’s office. We specialize in helping extraordinaries find jobs that match their talents. How may I direct your call? Okay. I’m transferring you to her office now.”

I suppose I should have discussed it with him first.

“Thank you for calling Sammy Borscht’s office. We specialize in helping extraordinaries find jobs that match their talents. How may I direct your call? I’m sorry. He only works at night. I can take a message if you wish. Or I can just give you to his voice mail.”

I hope it doesn’t push him into evil vampire mode. That would just ruin my day.

“Thank you for calling Sammy Borscht’s office. We specialize in helping—Yes. I said Sammy Borscht. No, this isn’t Mark Caten’s office. He doesn’t even work here. Sorry? Okay, then. Bye!”

Barbara perked up as Ambrose returned to the reception area. “Hey! How’d it go?”

“Peachy. Where the cleaning supplies?”

Barbara got up and came around to the other side of the desk.  She took his hand. “I’ll show you.”

He let her lead him to the first door on the other side of the double glass doors. “Apparently, I’m going to be your cleaning guy.”

I should tell him now. But that would be so out of the blue.  I really should wait for the right moment.

“Would you be willing to drive me back to the hotel after work?”

She startled out of her thoughts. “Hm? Sure! And here’s the supply closet. Everything you need is all in there. If you can’t find it, just ask me. I’ll get it for you.” If I don’t tell him now…

He gave her a bleary look. “Whazza matter?”

“Hm? Oh, I was just thinking about something.”

“What?”

Oh. Fine! I’ll just tell him. “Umm, well. My dad wants to meet you.”

“Huh?”

“I kind of told him about you and well. He wants to meet you.”

“Does he know I’m a vampire?”

“Yep.”

“And?”

“And nothing. He just wants to meet you.”

Ambrose pulled the broom and garbage scoop out of the closet. “So, he’s fine with his daughter dating a vampire. A real vampire.”

“Yep.”

He looked at her and wobbled a little. “Really?”

“Really.”

“You’re serious.”

“So serious.”

“And he wants to meet me.”

She took  a breath and softly exhaled. “Tonight.”

“At the Gendarme Kicker Café?”

She winced. “Sorry.”

“Don’t be sorry. Izza bout time I met your…” He blinked just a little too long.

This isn’t right.

She gently took the broom and the scoop from him and led him back to the reception area. She guided him into one of the seats in the lobby.

He curled up in the chair and fell asleep.

Barbara kissed his head. “I’ll be right back.”

 

2 thoughts on “Part 194 – Poor Sleepy Ambrose”

Leave a Reply

