Part 182 – What Is Mercy?

Hildreth followed her past crosses and gravestones – some new, some old.

A vase of marigolds at this one.

A dirt brown teddy bear with a crystal collar at that one.

A bowl of raspberries at another. Hildreth wondered about that one.

She stopped at the mausoleum. “Your girlfriend is up there.”

“You could have just said so.”

“If I had told you, you would have staked me and gone on your way.”

“I’m still going to stake you.”

“But you want to know how your lirrle giiiiirrrlfriend’s doing. It’s bothering you. It’s biting you. It’s eating you. It’s consuming you.” She yawned. “It’s…It’ssss….Can I go now?”

He balanced the Bossman 550 on his shoulder.

Her eyes widened. “Please! Let me go. I gave you what you want. I told you she’s up there and she really is. I swear I’m not lying. Please don’t stake me.”

“You’re a vampire.”

“I used to be a hunter. Just like you. I used to think. Just like you.”

He curled his finger around the trigger. “That’s all the more reason to stake you.”

“Please. I’m too tired to fight back. I’m too weak. I’m not a threat to you. Please! Show me mercy.”

“Mercy?” If this were me, what would mercy be? Continued life as a vampire? Or..

“I won’t go near you or your lover again.”

“You promise?”

“With everything I am and everything I used to be.”

I would want to be staked.

And Elsie…No. I wouldn’t want to see her like this. I wouldn’t want her to go on for endless years as the thing she’s hated and hunted. “You want mercy.”

“Yes, please.”

He pulled the trigger.

The stakes hit her heart before she could do anything to stop him. She keened out a wail and fell.

He knelt beside her. “I’m sorry, Alice.” There was so much more he could have said, but those three words were all that he could say.

He held her hand as her light faded.

4 thoughts on “Part 182 – What Is Mercy?”

  1. Man, I’m so glad he staked her. I don’t think I’ve screamed, “stake her” before, but hey …. I really have enjoyed the last couple chapters. I read one to the other, flying at breakneck speed to find out what happens next. Good writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😆 Thank you!

      To be honest, I almost had him spare her life. And, of course, she would have shown up later to create problems.

      Butch/Alice was one of those characters who turned out a lot different from what I had in mind. When I wrote the ransom note, I had in mind that they were two separate characters. Then, when Hildreth met her in the cemetery, Butch somehow turned into a woman with a split personality. And I liked it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

