Part 152 – Hungry

His hunger woke him before Ambrose was ready to get up.

He kept his eyes closed and tried to fall asleep again.

But every inhale drew her scent up into his mouth.

And he was so hungry.

He took deeper breaths, trying to hold onto the scent.

Hungry.

He ran his tongue along the edges of his teeth.

Hungry.

He opened his eyes.

And she was right there.

So close to him.

He pulled the rest of his body up onto the bed into a crouch. He spread his hands in the small space between him and her.

I want to touch her. Kiss her. Feel her heat pour down my throat. Lovely scented heat.

He curled his claws deep into the blanket.

“I’ll kill her. I know I will. I’ll lose control. I won’t be able to stop.” But..

I’m hungry.

“Barbara. I’m hungry.”

She woke up and smiled at him. “Mm. Thanks for helping me last night. Or was it this morning?”

His claws punctured the mattress.

“I guess it was a little bit of both.”

His stomach rumbled.

“I’m hungry.”

“Oh.”

His gaze kept going down to her throat. “Hungry.”

“And so, what? You’re going to bite me? Is that it?”

“I can’t help it, Barbara.”

“Hm. There’s the problem. I don’t want to be bit again. It hurt. A lot. But if you don’t bite me, you’ll have to do it to someone else.” She tilted her head. “I don’t know if that’s any better. You’ll still have to hurt someone.”

He took a deep breath.

“That’s definitely a problem. I guess there’s only one thing to do.” She held out her wrist.

He exhaled in a sharp gasp. “No.”

“Ambrose. Don’t—”

“No! You don’t understand. That won’t be enough for me. I’ll want more. I’ll lose control. I’ll bite your neck. I won’t be able to resist it. I’ll hurt you. I’ll kill you. I’ll change you.”

“Ambrose. Don’t quibble about it. Just do it, before I chicken out.”

“I don’t…” Hungry.

Hungry.

HUNGRY! He winced. “I’m sorry, Barbara.” He took her hand in his hand and pressed his forehead against it.

Her scent overwhelmed him. His body relaxed as he let his hunger take over.

Ambrose raised his head. His pupils were almost completely dilated. He smiled.

She looked away.

He kissed her wrist right before he sank his fangs into it.

 

2 thoughts on “Part 152 – Hungry”

Leave a Reply

