Part 148 – Good-bye, Kevin

“And I suppose you had a good reason to break into her house and shred your way into her bedroom?”

Better than yours.

“Ha!”

The werewolf rolled up onto all fours and shook himself out. He looked up at Barbara and pinned his ears back. Missed you. Take me back?

Ambrose held his breath. There were so many things (all of them snarky) that he wanted to say, but he didn’t want to give Kevin the winning advantage.

Barbara crouched in front of him.

“You bite her, you’re dead.”

Kevin’s fur bristled out.

“Just saying.”

He looked up at her and his fur flattened. Yes?

“I’m sorry, Kev. If you had asked me before, I might have said yes, but not now. Now…” She smiled at Ambrose. “Things are different now.”

He sat on his haunches. Vampire.

“I’m sorry. Are you okay? Did he hurt you?”

Pride hurt. Nose hurt. He snarled at Ambrose. Kill vampire!

Ambrose just couldn’t keep it bottled up any longer. “Ohhh, so you want a rematch? Is that it, fur face? If so, come on. Bring it on!”

Kevin rose to all fours again. I bring. You die.

“Ha!”

“No! Stop it, both of you. No one’s going to kill anyone. Certainly not in my house.”

Kevin growled.

Ambrose hissed.

“Kev! Stop it. Ambrose, go stand in the corner and calm down.”

Throat hurt. Jerk.

Ambrose smirked. “I may be a jerk, but at least I smell good.”

Kevin’s fur bristled, only to flatten again. Jerk. He skulked out of the room, muttering inside his head.

Too bad the door’s gone. thought Ambrose. I’d love to slam it on his tail.

As soon as the werewolf’s scent dissipated, he turned to her. “Are you okay? Did he hurt you?”

“No. He never even touched me. I’m so sorry, Ambrose. If I had known it was only him—”

“What happened?”

“I was about to get ready for bed. I heard something coming up the stairs and then that scratching at the door. I got scared. You were the first person I thought of to call. Maybe I shouldn’t have. Maybe—”

He lightly touched her lips with his fingertips. “I’m glad you did. I’m glad it wasn’t a real threat.” He hugged her. “I’m glad you’re safe.”

She hugged him back. “Thank you for coming.” She looked over his shoulder at the deconstructed door. “Hm. I don’t suppose you could help me clean up that mess?”

“I have a problem with splinters.”

“Oh, don’t worry.” She released him. “I won’t let any go anywhere near your heart. I promise.”

He grinned. “Thanks.”

Leave a Reply

