Part 139 – Belladonna Or Oak?

It took him by surprise.

But he didn’t mind.

He kissed her too.

Her scent flooded his senses, luring him and urging him to go further. He wrapped her in his embrace and kissed her again and again.

I want her.

I want to devour her.

I want.

I want.

I WANT.

He closed his eyes and he saw Elsie’s neck inches away from his fangs. He saw his father’s dying breath.

I don’t want to do that to her.

I don’t.

I do.

I don’t.

I do.

I want.

I don’t want.

I.

I.

He released her and scrambled up to his feet. His breath was stuck somewhere inside his chest, but his heart was beating too fast and too hard.

I WANT!

He turned to leave.

He heard her stand.

“What’s wrong?”

“I’m sorry.” He curled his hands into fists. His claws poked his palms. “I have to go. Please. Don’t follow me. Don’t come near me.”

“Why?” Step forward.

“I mean it. Stay here. Or go home. I—” Her scent was everywhere. He could almost see it come out of his mouth as he panted. “I don’t want to hurt you. If you come any closer to me, I will hurt you.”

She stood still. He could sense her lack of movement.

He walked to the sliding door.

“So, what? You’re going to leave poor defenseless me alone in an unfamiliar restaurant late at night? Do you have any idea what sort of things could happen to me?”

He laid his hands on the door and bowed his head.

“I could be abducted by a random perv weirdo. I could be bitten by another vampire. At the very least, our waitress might stab me to death with my own chopsticks.”

“Why her?”

She sounded like she was smiling as she said, “You mean, you didn’t notice her sizing you up and thinking ‘Yum Yum Yum’?”

He wanted to tear holes into the thin paper. “What?”

“Oh, come on. You can’t be over XXX? years old and not notice when a girl’s checking you out.”

He clenched his teeth.

Turn around.

Attack.

Pin her down.

Bite and bite and bite and then…

“Ambrose, please. Don’t leave me.”

“You don’t know what you’re asking. You don’t…” He couldn’t breathe.

Footsteps.

Footsteps.

Barbara’s footsteps.

She laid her hands on his back.

He almost screamed. “Why are you doing this to me?”

“Because I know you aren’t a belladonna. Ambrose, you are an oak. You don’t have to give in.”

“It isn’t as easy as you think. It isn’t just a matter of…”

I WANT!

NOW.

NOW! NOW NOW NOW!

He tore the door open and ran.

2 thoughts on “Part 139 – Belladonna Or Oak?”

Leave a Reply

