Part 118 – The Phone Call

This is insane. Elsie listened to the phone ring and ring. This is insane. I shouldn’t do this. I should just let him go.

But that message. What did he mean? What was he trying to tell me? He misses me, but it’s so much more than that. What does that mean?

***

Ambrose groaned and got out of bed. “This had better be worth it or I swear I’ll smash my phone.” He picked up the phone.

He saw the phone number on his caller id.

“Elsie.”

***

Do I want to know? Yes.

But no.

I don’t know.

What if he answers?

What if he doesn’t?

What does he want from me?

What if—

Hildreth woke up and stretched. “Is that Master Shinowa?”

“Elsie? Is it you?”

I can’t!

“Elsie. If it’s you, talk to me. Say something. Say anything. Just say hello.”

She ended the call and shut her phone off.

***

The line went dead.

Ambrose lowered his phone. “I don’t understand.”

Leave a Reply

