Part 117 – Ambrose Gets A Call

Ambrose crawled into the hotel bed and stared up at the ceiling. He was tired and he wanted to sleep.

But he kept replaying that whole incident with Barbara over and over in his head. What should I have done? I did the right thing. I left before I could hurt her, but I don’t know if she’ll ever want to see me again.

He closed his eyes and sighed. I shouldn’t have let her get so close to me. I shouldn’t have stayed so late. I should have had something to eat before I went out with her.

I should have apologized.

I should have.

I should ha…

I…

He fell asleep and dreamed.

***

He was locked up in a small cell – chained to the wall. A muzzle on his face. He couldn’t open his mouth. He could barely breathe. A group of hunters entered the room and aimed their crossbows at him. He couldn’t turn away. He couldn’t protect himself. And Gilbert Gottfried was doing a running commentary.

The stakes flew at him and turned into flames. The cell was in flames! But he was still chained to the wall. He couldn’t escape. He couldn’t breathe.

And somewhere Gilbert Gottfried sang Taps.

Mark Caten walked through the flames. He placed his hands on either side of Ambrose’s head and smiled. “You deserve this.”

He turned into Elsie. “You deserve this, vampire.”

***

He startled awake.

His cell phone was ringing.

Leave a Reply

