Part 104 – Five Against One

Okay. Let’s see. Hildreth did a quick head count with the narrow beam of his penlight. Five of them. Well. That’s better than what I was expecting. “Small group, huh?”

Vampires kill many.

“I didn’t realize vampires went after animals. Are you sure vampires were responsible?”

You say a lot of words. I like none. He threw his head back into a howl.

The pack rushed at Hildreth while the alpha white stood back, watching.

Hildreth attacked them in a flurry of kicks and blows.

One.

Two.

Three.

Four.

Five.

Smack head.

Punch face.

Kick throat.

Stomp on paws.

Kick flank.

One.

Two.

Three.

Four.

Five.

Don’t get bitten.

Don’t get scratched.

Don’t get changed.

Don’t get killed.

Don’t lose track of them.

One.

Two.

Three.

Four.

Five.

Pull tail.

Gouge eyes with flashlight.

Break neck.

Kick back.

Break ribs.

One.

Two.

Three.

Four.

Five.

Kill another one.

Kill another one.

The alpha let out a sharp yip-bark.

The remainder of the pack stopped their attack and slunk back to him.

The alpha regarded Hildreth with cold disdain. Heartless monster. He turned to leave.

“Wait. Have you seen Elsie?”

Elsie. Not name or thing I know.

“I’m sorry.”

The alpha’s ears twitched.

“I didn’t have a choice. They wanted to bite me, to change me.”

Yes.

“That isn’t what I want. I don’t want to lose one week every month. I don’t want to be like you.” He thought about Elsie. “I just want to be me.”

The alpha shook his head in a hard sneeze. Your mate is at vampire’s castle.

“Mate? What?” Hildreth’s face became uncomfortably warm. “Elsie is not my mate.”

And trees don’t grow leaves. Find castle. Find mate before vampire returns.  His black tipped guard hairs bristled, making his white fur more obvious. He almost looked like he was glowing. Vampire will bite your mate.

Or he’ll steal her heart away. “Where is the castle?”

He turned his head and snarled. Hunter killed my pack. Find mate alone.

“Oh, come on. I didn’t kill all of them.”

The alpha walked into the long grass and his pack disappeared after him.

Hildreth sighed. “You could have given me a hint.”

Leave a Reply

