Part 100 – Almost Romantic

Author’s Note: Oh. My. Gosh. I can’t believe that I made it up to 100.  I started this blog on May 27, 2016 – using 11 separate prompt  stories as a sort of outline. I honestly didn’t think I had enough story to work with. I thought I’d be lucky to get it up to  twenty parts and now here we are at 100. Eep! Thank you to everyone who’s followed this story so far and left comments/likes. You inspire me to keep pushing the story forward.

Okay. On to the next part!

Hildreth walked beside Elsie down Main Street.

It was quiet. Very few cars out on the road. No vampires.

He smiled. It’s almost romantic.

Almost.

It would be romantic if we weren’t on the way to visit Ambrose.

Hildreth’s hands itched for a stake, but Elsie had insisted that they travel unarmed. So, no stakes, no crossbows, and no Bossman 550.

He rolled the penlight in between his fingers. It was rugged and macho, but the reality was it was just a penlight. Hardly an effective weapon in any kind of fight.

Too bad I don’t have my big block flashlight. That thing can shine for miles and can knock someone’s head off with one well-aimed swat. He smiled. I wonder how well that would work against vampires. If I managed to decapitate a vampire, would I still have to stake it? Would its head grow back if I didn’t stake the vampire’s heart? How would that work? His brain would have to regrow…So, would he have to learn how to talk, read, and all that again? Or would it be some sort of ingrained knowledge type of thing?

He looked at Elsie.

I’m an idiot. Here I am with her and I’m mentally babbling about killing vampires. Maybe I’m just trying to avoid the question I want to ask.

She looked at him. “What’s wrong?”

He startled and accidently dropped his penlight. “Huh? Was I giving off something’s wrong vibes?”

She picked up his flashlight and held on to it. “You look unhappy.”

Busted. “I’m sorry.”

“For what?”

He stopped alongside the store front for Beulinda’s Beauteous Salon 4 Men. “This wasn’t your idea.  I know that. I respect you for it. But…”

She stopped and looked back at him. “What is it?”

“What happens next?”

“I’m sorry?”

“After you have your visitation with that vampire, what then? You planning to stay with him?”

“With Ambrose?”

“Yeah.”

She turned and resumed walking down the sidewalk.

“Elsie!” He ran after her. “Are you?”

She didn’t reply.

He grabbed her shoulders and forced her to stop.

She elbowed him hard in the chest.

“Argh! Just tell me.”

“I can’t.”

He released her shoulders.

“I don’t know. That’s why I’m going to him. All of these questions I have. All of these doubts. I need to know the truth. Then, I will know which way I will go.”

“Elsie, can’t you just go to me?”

She stiffened.

“You won’t have to go far to find me.” He laid his hand on her shoulder. “I’m right here.”

“I know.” she said softly. “But I need to know.”

He released her. “Then. Let’s go.”

She looked back at him and smiled. “Thank you.”

 

2 thoughts on “Part 100 – Almost Romantic”

  1. Love this scene. I’m really starting to like Hildreth, but I feel sad for him in his adoration of Elsie. There’s this part of me that wants him to get the hook up 😉 I also like how we see inside his head when he’s thinking of decapitating vampires. The questions there are very practical and ones I’ve never considered myself. This chapter really goes a long way in building his character. Great job!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for this comment!

      I’m glad you’re starting to like Hildreth. I was worried that he might come off feeling like Raoul to Ambrose’s Phantom. You know, the unlucky other guy who’s nice and all but dull as dirt compared to the bad boy. 😆

      I have some long range plans for him – some good, some bad – but I can’t say what. I don’t want to spoil the ride. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

